Try Another Page | Return to Search Page 11.23.01.13

11.23.01.13

.13 Qualifications for a Driving Instructor License.

A. An individual applying for a driving instructor license:

(1) Shall be 21 years old or older;

(2) Shall possess a high school certificate of graduation, its equivalent, or a college degree;

(3) Shall possess a valid driver's license issued by Maryland or another state to drive the class of vehicle in which instruction is to be given, and have no driving restrictions, except for:

(a) Corrective lenses; or

(b) A restriction issued under Transportation Article, §16-203, Annotated Code of Maryland, for child support arrearages;

(4) May not have more than four active points on their current driving record;

(5) May not have a pending charge or criminal conviction for:

(a) Fraud in the operation of providing instruction;

(b) A crime of moral turpitude;

(c) A sex offense;

(d) Contributing to the delinquency of a minor; or

(e) Any offense within the last 3 years involving:

(i) A controlled dangerous substance;

(ii) Alcohol or drugs while operating a motor vehicle; or

(iii) A felony while operating a motor vehicle;

(6) May not have a pending charge or criminal conviction for any offense within the last 3 years:

(a) Involving a controlled dangerous substance;

(b) Involving alcohol or drugs while operating a motor vehicle; and

(c) For any felony involving the use of a motor vehicle;

(7) May not have a reportable medical condition; and

(8) May not have an outstanding criminal complaint or charge for an alleged violation that if proved would constitute grounds for refusal, cancellation, suspension, or revocation of the instructor's certification, driver's license, or driving instructor's license.

B. An individual applying for an instructor license shall meet all the requirements for licensure before submitting an application to the Administration.

Title