36.07.02.13

.13 Principal Employee Licenses.

A. Unless an individual holds a valid principal employee license issued by the Commission, the individual may not be employed by a licensee as a principal employee.

B. Qualification Requirements. The Commission may issue a principal employee license to an individual who is employed by a licensee, and who has:

(1) Paid the application and license fee under §C of this regulation;

(2) If required, obtained a bond required under Regulation .10 of this chapter;

(3) Furnished the Commission with the personal and background information required under Regulation .02 this chapter; and

(4) Provided the Commission with sufficient information to establish that the individual is qualified for a principal employee license.

C. Application and License Fees.

(1) The application fee for a principal employee is:

(a) $1,250 for a facility that will operate more than ten instant bingo machines; or

(b) $150 for a facility that will operate ten or fewer instant bingo machines.

(2) The license fee for a principal employee is:

(a) $375 for a facility that will operate more than ten instant bingo machines; or

(b) $150 for a facility that will operate ten or fewer instant bingo machines.

D. The principal employee license authorizes the licensee to function as a principal employee for any licensee in the State.

E. A principal employee may not play an instant bingo machine or other electronic gaming device at a facility:

(1) Where the individual is employed; or

(2) That is operated by the individualís employer.

F. A licensee has a continuing duty to inform the Commission of an act or omission that the licensee knows or should know constitutes a violation under Maryland Criminal Law Article, §12-301.1, Annotated Code of Maryland or the Commission's regulations.

G. Term; Renewal; License Renewal Fee.

(1) The term of a principal employee license is 5 years.

(2) The Commission may renew the license if, before the term of the license expires, the licensee:

(a) Applies for renewal;

(b) Continues to comply with all licensing requirements;

(c) Maintains employment as a principal employee;

(d) Submits to a background investigation under Regulation .04 of this chapter; and

(e) Pays a license renewal fee of:

(i) $375 for a facility that will operate more than ten instant bingo machines; or

(ii) $150 for a facility that will operate ten or fewer instant bingo machines.

H. Sponsored License.

(1) The Commission may issue to a principal employee license applicant a sponsored license to permit the individual to legally work as a principal employee before the Commissionís licensing process is complete.

(2) A licensed facility operator or manufacturer may submit an application for a sponsored license on behalf of an individual who is seeking a principal employee license.

(3) An application for a sponsored license shall be in a format designated by the Commission and shall include:

(a) A completed application for a principal employee license;

(b) Payment of the fees required under §C of this regulation; and

(c) Documentation to verify that the sponsor has:

(i) Offered the individual at least conditional employment;

(ii) Obtained bond as required under Regulation .10 of this chapter; and

(iii) Performed, at a minimum, a Social Security database check, criminal check, employment verification, and a national database search.

(4) The Commission may grant a sponsored license after:

(a) Receiving all items required under §H(3) of this regulation; and

(b) Performing on the individual a:

(i) Criminal background investigation under Regulation .04; and

(ii) Credit check.

(5) A sponsored license:

(a) Is valid for one nonrenewable 1-year term;

(b) Is not transferable to employment with a different facility operator or manufacturer; and

(c) Automatically converts to a principal employee license when the Commission notifies the sponsor that the individual meets the license qualification requirements under §B of this regulation.