A. Filing with Commissioner.
(1) To permit the Commissioner to review the basis of prima facie premium rates and the basis of premium rates being charged on the case method, each insurer writing credit life or credit health insurance shall:
(a) Maintain statistics relating to the insurer's Maryland business; and
(b) File the statistics with the Commissioner in the form required by the Commissioner.
(2) An insurer shall file the statistics for each:
(a) Account that has qualified as a case for the 2 most recent policy years, not later than 120 days after the end of the second calendar year to which the statistics relate; and
(b) New case and for all other business, not later than June 30 following the close of the calendar year to which the statistics relate.
(3) Each insurer writing credit life or credit health insurance also shall file with the Commissioner:
(a) Notice of each account that is a new case;
(b) The identity of the creditor for each new case, including:
(i) The corporate name of the creditor,
(ii) Any "trading as" name used by the creditor,
(iii) The address and phone number of the creditor, and
(iv) The name of a contact person for insurance matters at the creditor; and
(c) The statistics for the most recent calendar year, certified by a responsible officer of the insurer, that would have been required under this regulation if the new case had been a case for each of the 2 most recent policy years.
(4) An insurer shall file the information on a new case with the Commissioner not later than the June 30 following the close of the calendar year in which the account became a new case.
(5) Use of Code Numbers.
(a) In filing the information required by this section, an insurar may use a code number instead of the name and address of a creditor.
(b) If an insurer uses a code number instead of the name and address of a creditor, the insurer shall submit a separate list that identifies the name and address of each creditor with the creditor's code number.
(c) The list that identifies the name and address of each creditor with the creditor's code number is confidential commercial information under State Government Article, §10-617(d), Annotated Code of Maryland.
B. Reports for business other than on a case method shall be submitted under these regulations on a calendar year basis for the calendar year 1980 and every year after that. Reports for business for the calendar year 1979 shall be submitted in accordance with the corresponding regulations in effect on December 31, 1979.
C. All reports, both those on a calendar year basis and those on the case method, shall be submitted separately for each class of business of credit life insurance and for each class of business of credit health insurance written, and shall be submitted separately for each premium payment method (single premium decreasing total-of-payments, single premium decreasing net payoff balance, single premium level, monthly outstanding balance), and shall be submitted separately for each pattern of benefits (for example, 7-day retro, 14-day retro), and shall be submitted separately for single life and joint life credit life insurance, and shall be submitted separately for single health and for joint health credit health insurance.
D. Every report filed with the Commissioner shall contain the following information:
(1) Gross premiums written;
(2) Refunds of premiums on terminated insurance;
(3) Net premiums written;
(4) Unearned premium reserve at beginning of period;
(5) Unearned premium reserve at end of period;
(6) Earned premiums (1-2) minus (5-4);
(7) Earned premiums at prima facie;
(8) Claims paid;
(9) Claim reserve at beginning of period;
(10) Claim reserve at end of period;
(11) Claims incurred (7) plus (9-8);
(12) Loss ratio (10) divided by (6);
(13) Prima facie loss ratio (rounded to two decimal places);
(14) Dividends and experience rating refunds;
(15) All other commissions, compensation, and remuneration to creditors or agents;
(16) Total of items (12) and (13);
(17) Ratio (14) divided by (3);
(18) Combined ratio, sum of (11) and (15);
(19) Year-end amount of insurance in force;
(20) Year-end number of individual policies and certificates in force; and
(21) Minimum and maximum rates charged.
E. Every statistical report shall be certified by a responsible officer of the insurer and shall be accompanied by a statement certified by the president or other responsible officer of the insurer that the insurer has not paid or credited or provided commission as defined in these regulations in excess of the applicable maximum amounts specified in Regulation .20 of this chapter.