A. An individual applying for employment at a security guard agency for a security guard position shall obtain a certification card issued by the State Police.
B. An application for a security guard certification card consists of:
(1) Two photographs, 1-1/2 inch square, of the applicant's head and shoulders;
(2) A completed application form;
(3) Two cards with the applicant's fingerprints; and
(4) A check or money order for a nonrefundable application fee of $15 plus payment for the cost of the fingerprint card record checks. Checks or money orders shall be made payable to the Maryland State Police.
C. The State Police will provide the application form and fingerprint cards.
D. The hiring agency is responsible for preparing the completed application cards.
E. The applicant may be denied a certification card if the applicant:
(1) Has been convicted of a crime of violence, which is defined here as:
(c) Burglary, including common law and all statutory and storehouse forms of burglary offenses,
(g) Manslaughter, excepting involuntary manslaughter,
(l) Sodomy, or
(m) An attempt to commit any of the above offenses, or assault with intent to commit any other offense for which the court sentences an individual to imprisonment for more than 1 year;
(2) Has been convicted of a felony;
(3) Is a habitual drunkard;
(4) Is a fugitive from justice, which is defined as any person who has fled from a sheriff or other peace officer within this State, or who has fled from any state, territory, or the District of Columbia, or possession of the United States, to avoid prosecution for a crime of violence or to avoid giving testimony in any criminal proceeding;
(5) Is addicted to or a habitual user of narcotics, barbiturates, or amphetamines;
(6) Has been confined to a mental institution for treatment of a mental disorder or disorders, unless there is attached to the application a physician's certificate, issued within 30 days before the application, certifying that the applicant is of no danger to himself or others;
(7) Has falsified any information on the applicant's application; or
(8) Has been convicted of any criminal act directly related to the applicant's employment with a detective agency licensed or required to be licensed by the State Police.
F. Applicants meeting the criteria listed in §§AE of this regulation shall be issued a certification card mailed to the employing agency as proof of clearance. The agency shall immediately release the card to the applicant.
G. The certification card is issued to the applicant and is valid for employment with any licensed Maryland security guard agency. The card remains the property of the State and shall be returned to the State Police Licensing Division within 5 days when:
(1) Voluntarily surrendered;
(2) Revoked by the State Police for violation of these regulations;
(3) The holder is convicted of a crime listed above; or
(4) Death of the card holder occurs.
H. It is the responsibility of the employing agency to notify the Licensing Division within 10 days whenever the holder of a certification card either begins or terminates employment with the agency.
I. Lost or Stolen Certification Cards.
(1) Lost or stolen certification cards will be replaced only after an applicant submits under oath an application for a security guard certification card.
(2) The application shall be accompanied by a notarized letter describing the circumstances of the loss.
(3) Payment for the cost of the fingerprint card and record checks shall be charged for replacement of the card.
(4) The applicant shall provide the required fee in the form of a money order or certified check, along with two current fingerprint cards and one photograph.