13B.05.01.05

.05 Accreditation Required.

A. Accreditation Requirement.

(1) An institution required to register under this chapter that is not accredited by an accrediting body recognized and approved by the U.S. Department of Education may not receive a registration from the Commission.

(2) If an institution’s accreditation is terminated, the institution’s registration in Maryland shall cease effective the date that accreditation is terminated, unless the institution continues to be accredited by an organization recognized as an accrediting agency by the U.S. Department of Education to grant institutional accreditation.

B. Effect of the removal of recognition of an accrediting agency by the U.S. Department of Education (USDOE).

(1) If an institution ceases to be accredited by an organization recognized as an accrediting agency by the USDOE because the USDOE terminates its recognition of the accrediting agency, the institution shall inform the Commission of its accreditation status in writing within 7 calendar days of the accrediting agency’s loss of recognition.

(2) Except as provided in §B(3) of this regulation, if an institution ceases to be accredited by an organization recognized as an accrediting agency by the USDOE because the USDOE terminates its recognition of the accrediting agency, the institution’s registration in Maryland shall cease effective the date that the USDOE terminates its recognition of the accrediting agency, unless the institution continues to be accredited by an organization recognized as an accrediting agency by the USDOE to grant institutional accreditation.

(3) If an institution ceases to be accredited by an organization recognized as an accrediting agency by the USDOE because the USDOE terminates its recognition of the accrediting agency, and the institution is not accredited by another organization recognized as an accrediting agency by the USDOE to grant institutional accreditation, the Secretary may grant the institution a temporary registration to operate, and impose terms and conditions as the Secretary deems appropriate, provided that:

(a) Within 60 days of the accreditation agency’s loss of recognition or the effective date of this regulation, whichever occurs later, the institution shall apply for accreditation from an organization recognized as an accrediting agency by the USDOE, and shall inform the Commission of the new accrediting agency and the institution’s application status; and

(b) Within 4 years of the accreditation agency’s loss of recognition, the institution shall become accredited by an organization recognized as an accrediting agency by the USDOE to grant institutional accreditation.

(4) Withdrawal of Approval.

(a) Except as provided in §B(4)(b) of this regulation, the Secretary shall withdraw an institution’s registration in Maryland if the institution fails to meet the time periods required by §B(3) of this regulation.

(b) The Secretary may, upon conditions that the Secretary deems appropriate, extend for a specified period the time requirements under §B(3) of this regulation.

(5) The provisions of §B of this regulation apply to a decision by the USDOE, effective on or after July 1, 2016, to withdraw an accrediting agency’s recognition.