.05 Certification in Middle School Education (Grades 4—9).

A. Middle school certification may be obtained in four content areas:

(1) English/Language Arts;

(2) Mathematics;

(3) Social Studies; or

(4) Science.

B. To receive middle school certification, the applicant shall:

(1) Complete one of the certification options set forth in COMAR 13A.12.01.04B, C, or E; and

(2) Meet the applicable testing requirements established by the State Superintendent of Schools pursuant to COMAR 13A.12.01.05A(3).

C. Assignment. In a middle school using a departmentalized organization, a teacher with certification in:

(1) Elementary education may be assigned to teach in that school, if not less than 50 percent of the teaching assignment is within the elementary education grades; or

(2) An academic area, grades 7—12, may be assigned to teach any content area in which the teacher holds a certification, if not less than 50 percent of the assignment is within the secondary education grades.