A. Required Reporting.
(1) Except as provided in §A(2) of this regulation, insurance companies shall immediately report, in an electronic format determined by the Administration:
(a) New policies;
(d) Reinstatements, and
(e) Policy changes as specified under §B of this regulation.
(2) Insurance companies shall report, in an electronic format determined by the Administration, fleet policy coverage changes every 30 days, to include:
(a) Company additions or deletions; and
(b) Policy number changes.
(3) If an insurance company does not have any new polices, lapses, terminations, reinstatements, or policy changes as specified under §B of this regulation, the insurance company shall submit a report of no business by the close of business on the last business day of the month.
B. Except as provided in §A(2) of this regulation notifications of new policies, lapses, terminations, and reinstatements by an insurer shall include:
(1) The name of the insured;
(2) The Maryland driver's license number or date of birth of the insured;
(3) The make of the vehicle;
(4) The model year of the vehicle;
(5) The vehicle identification number (VIN);
(6) The current policy number;
(7) The effective date of the policy; and
(8) If applicable:
(a) The cancellation date of the policy; and
(b) A type code, in a format required by the Administration, explaining the reason for the termination or lapse of coverage.
C. Rejected Notifications.
(1) The Administration shall reject notifications of new policies, lapses, terminations, and reinstatements which do not include all of the items specified in §B of this regulation.
(2) The insurer shall resubmit notifications rejected under the provisions of §C(1) of this regulation to the Administration as soon as practicable.
D. The insurer shall provide, at each occurrence when the required security will terminate or be canceled, timely notification to the insured of the penalties that may be imposed by the Administration in accordance with Transportation Article, §17-106, Annotated Code of Maryland, for their failure to return evidence of registration when the required security has ended and is not replaced. The notice shall include the following statements:
(1) "The registration plates must be returned to the Motor Vehicle Administration on or before the date the insurance policy expires or is canceled"; and
(2) "Failure to return the registration plates may result in an uninsured motorist penalty fine which is assessed at a rate of $150 for the first 30 days and is increased by $7 each day thereafter until the insurance is replaced or the registration plates are returned. The uninsured motorist penalty fine is assessed per vehicle."
E. Insurance companies shall report, maintain, and update contact information, in a format required by the Administration, for the purpose of establishing and maintaining a database containing the proper address for providing notice to an insurer under Transportation Article §21–10A–04, Annotated Code of Maryland.