A. A dump service registration vehicle registered for 70,000 pounds GVW, traveling with a GVW over 55,000 pounds without the lift axle being fully engaged shall be in violation of Maryland law and subject to a recommended fine of $500.
B. A dump service registration vehicle that is operating over 55,000 pounds GVW and displaying the proper reading on the air pressure gauge in accordance with the provisions of Regulation .06A of this chapter, but found to have a weight below the minimum required on the lift axle, as specified in Regulation .07B of this chapter, shall receive a safety equipment repair order, as defined in COMAR 11.14.01.01B(17), for an inaccurate lift axle air/weight ratio.
C. A dump service registration vehicle that receives a safety equipment repair order in accordance with the provisions of §B of this regulation shall be inspected during normal business hours by:
(1) A Maryland manufacturer;
(2) A Maryland second-stage manufacturer;
(3) An authorized dealer;
(4) A Maryland licensed truck inspection station; or
(5) A State-operated weight facility.
D. A dump service registration vehicle suspected of operating in violation of §A of this regulation may be weighed by a law enforcement officer.
E. Enforcement of Air Pressure Requirements.
(1) Enforcement of proper lift axle air pressure shall be by measuring pounds of air pressure on the lift axle and comparing this figure with the air pressure certificate.
(2) The air pressure gauge used for enforcement shall:
(a) Have an accuracy of ±0.5 pound per square inch;
(b) Be measured in 1 pound increments between 0 and 100 pounds;
(c) Be equipped with an air pressure release system capable of retaining the reading until purged; and
(d) Have calibration traceable to the National Institute of Standards and Technology.
(3) The air pressure gauge used under the provisions of §E(2) of this regulation may be calibrated on a daily basis and shall be certified on not less than a semiannual basis.
F. If a law enforcement officer determines that the lift axle is operating below the required minimum air pressure and in violation of Maryland law, a citation may be issued with the recommended fine in accordance with the schedule shown below:
|Pounds below certification designation||Fine|
|(1) 1 to 4||$50;|
|(2) 5 to 10||$250;|
|(3) 11 or more||$500.|