A. The owner of a nonexempt vehicle shall present the vehicle for a biennial inspection as scheduled by the Administration.
B. Schedule for Vehicle Inspection.
(1) The Administration shall assign each vehicle required to be inspected a date of scheduled inspection for each inspection cycle, and shall send a notice to the vehicle owner approximately 8 weeks before the assigned date.
(2) A vehicle owner shall present the vehicle for a scheduled inspection after receipt of notification, but not later than the date of scheduled inspection. Presenting the vehicle for inspection at any other time does not alter the date of a future scheduled inspection.
(3) Unscheduled Inspection.
(a) A used vehicle owned by a dealer for which a date of scheduled inspection has not been established by the Administration may be inspected without notification, and the date the vehicle is initially inspected becomes the date of scheduled inspection.
(b) A new resident of Maryland who owns a vehicle for which a date of scheduled inspection has not been established by the Administration, and who chooses to have the vehicle inspected before titling and registration of the vehicle, may present the vehicle for inspection without notification, and the date the vehicle is initially inspected becomes the date of scheduled inspection.
(c) An existing resident who wishes to change a date of a scheduled inspection may request that the Administration change the scheduled date.
(d) The Administration shall have sole discretion in granting a request under §B(3)(c) of this regulation.
(e) A vehicle that is registered out-of-State or a federal government vehicle may be presented for inspection as required by the state or the federal government, and an unscheduled inspection will be performed.
(4) New Vehicles.
(a) Qualified Hybrid Vehicles. On or after October 1, 2012, for a qualified hybrid vehicle of the current or preceding model year that has not been previously titled or registered in any jurisdiction and for which the ownership document is a manufacturer's certificate of origin, the Administration shall assign a date of scheduled inspection which is at least 36 months after the model year of the vehicle.
(b) Except as required in §B(4)(a) of this regulation, for a vehicle of the current or preceding model year that has not been previously titled or registered in any jurisdiction and for which the ownership document is a manufacturer's certificate of origin, the Administration shall assign a date of scheduled inspection which is at least 36 months after the model year of the vehicle.
(5) Change of Address.
(a) Transportation Article, §13-414, Annotated Code of Maryland, requires the owner of a vehicle to notify the Administration of a change of address within 30 days of the change. For purposes of this subsection, the term "address" means the bona fide domicile of the vehicle owner, as defined in COMAR 11.11.06.
(b) If a vehicle owner moves from an address outside of the emissions inspection area to an address within the emissions inspection area, the Administration shall establish a date of scheduled inspection.
(6) Transfer of Ownership. If a vehicle undergoes transfer of ownership within the emissions inspection area, the Administration shall establish a date of scheduled inspection upon vehicle registration.
(7) Out-of-State Vehicles. Unless otherwise exempt, a vehicle which has been previously titled or registered in a jurisdiction outside Maryland shall be assigned a date of scheduled inspection upon registration in the emissions inspection area.
(8) Vehicles Owned or Leased by the Federal Government. A department, agency, or instrumentality of the federal government with jurisdiction over any property or facility within the emissions inspection area shall provide to the Administration, in a format approved by the Administration:
(a) A list of all vehicles at each property or facility which are required to be inspected under this chapter;
(b) Information on any additions or deletions to the list by the end of the calendar quarter in which the additions or deletions occurred; and
(c) An updated list biennially.
C. On-Highway Emissions Test.
(1) The owner of a vehicle which fails to meet on-highway emissions test standards, as specified in Regulation .09F of this chapter, upon two occasions in a 2-year period, shall present the vehicle for an out-of-cycle inspection at a vehicle emissions inspection station as scheduled by the Administration, unless the vehicle:
(a) Is scheduled for inspection under §§A and B of this regulation within 6 months from the date of the second on-highway emissions test failure;
(b) Has failed an inspection and is operating during the period of permitted operation; or
(c) Has been issued a waiver certificate for the assigned inspection cycle.
(2) An out-of-cycle inspection required under §C(1) of this regulation does not alter the schedule for vehicle inspection specified in §§A and B of this regulation.
D. Compliance With Emissions-Related Recalls.
(1) The owner of a vehicle scheduled for inspection under this chapter shall have vehicle repairs performed as required by an emissions-related recall notice before presenting the vehicle for inspection.
(2) A vehicle found not to have had repairs performed as required by an emissions-related recall notice shall be rejected from inspection. The vehicle owner shall demonstrate compliance to the satisfaction of the Administration before the vehicle is inspected.
(1) The owner of a vehicle which has failed an inspection shall present the vehicle for reinspection on or before the end of the period of permitted operation and after emissions-related repairs have been performed on the vehicle.
(2) The vehicle owner shall provide documentation, in a form prescribed by the Administration, indicating all of the following information for the vehicle:
(a) The repairs which were performed;
(b) By whom the repairs were performed; and
(c) Any emissions-related repairs recommended by the repair technician which were not performed.
(3) A vehicle presented for reinspection without the documentation required in §E(2) of this regulation shall be rejected from reinspection.
F. Rejection from Inspection or Reinspection. Rejection from inspection or reinspection does not alter the schedule for vehicle inspection specified in §§A and B of this regulation.