(1) Within 60 days of a toll violation, the Authority shall issue a citation, as provided in Transportation Article, §21-1414, Annotated Code of Maryland, to the person alleged to be liable who has previously been issued an NOTD.
(2) The citation shall contain information required in Transportation Article, §21-1414(d)(3), Annotated Code of Maryland.
(3) Within 30 days of the mailing date of the citation a person alleged to be liable may:
(a) Pay the video toll and civil penalty, in the amount set forth in Regulation .09 of this chapter, to the Authority; or
(b) Contest the citation by electing to stand trial in the District Court of Maryland.
B. Final Toll Violation.
(1) A citation may result in a final toll violation.
(2) For any citation that results in a final toll violation and remains unpaid, the Authority may do one or more of the following:
(a) Request the MVA to refuse the vehicle registration for a vehicle that has incurred at least one unpaid final toll violation as set forth in Regulation .08 of this chapter;
(b) Send a request to the MVA for suspension of the vehicle registration if a vehicle has incurred at least $1,000 in unpaid final toll violations as set forth in Regulation .08 of this chapter;
(c) Refer any amounts due as a result of the unpaid final toll violation to the CCU as set forth in Regulation .08 of this chapter; and
(d) Collect the amount due by any other means as provided by law.