10.58.01.10

.10 Licensure Eligibility: Out-of-State Applicants.

A. An applicant licensed as a professional counselor or its equivalent, as established by the Board, in another state, territory, or jurisdiction is eligible for licensure if the applicant:

(1) Provides on a form that the Board supplies:

(a) An application; and

(b) Verification that the applicant:

(i) Has no history of disciplinary action, past or pending, in a state, territory, or jurisdiction in which the applicant holds a license to practice clinical professional counseling; and

(ii) Has not committed any act or omission that would be grounds for discipline or denial of licensure under Health Occupations Article, §17-509, Annotated Code of Maryland;

(2) Provides the following verification directly to the Board from the appropriate authority:

(a) A copy of a current license from each state, territory, or jurisdiction in which the applicant has been licensed, registered, or otherwise authorized to practice clinical professional counseling; and

(b) Documentation, satisfactory to the Board, that the applicant is currently licensed in good standing to practice clinical professional counseling in another state, territory, or jurisdiction;

(3) Pays the application fee set forth in the COMAR 10.58.02;

(4) Achieves a passing score on an examination testing the applicant's knowledge of Maryland law and regulations governing professional counselors;

(5) Achieves a passing score on:

(a) The National Counselors Examination; or

(b) The National Clinical Mental Health Counselors Examination; and

(6) Meets the educational requirements for licensure in this State as a clinical professional counselor:

(a) As established in Regulation .05 of this chapter; or

(b) By providing documentation of the substitute educational and experience requirements outlined in §§B, C and D of this regulation.

B. Equivalent Educational Requirements. The applicant shall provide documentation or transcripts confirming completion of a master's or doctoral degree in a professional counseling field from an accredited educational institution approved by the Board.

C. Waiver of Course Requirements. The Board shall waive the course requirements specified in Regulation .05 of this chapter, except for documentation showing completion of a minimum of 3 graduate semester credit hours or 5 graduate quarter hours covering each of the following primary topics or content areas:

(1) Diagnosis and Psychopathology; and

(2) Psychotherapy and treatment of mental and emotional disorders, as described in Regulation .05B(1) of this chapter; and

(3) Professional, legal, and ethical responsibilities.

D. Equivalent Experience Requirements.

(1) The applicant shall provide:

(a) If the applicant has a master's degree and has a minimum of 60 graduate credit hours, documentation, satisfactory to the Board, of not less than 3 years, with a minimum of 3,000 hours, of supervised clinical experience in professional counseling, 2 years of which shall be completed after the award of the master's degree;

(b) If the applicant has a master's degree consisting of less than 60 graduate credit hours, documentation, satisfactory to the Board, of not less than 3 years experience practicing as a licensed clinical professional counselor, with a minimum of 3,000 hours of clinical professional counseling experience; or

(c) If the applicant has a doctoral degree, documentation, satisfactory to the Board, of not less than 2 years practicing as a clinical professional counselor, or a minimum of 2,000 hours of clinical professional counseling experience.

(2) The applicant shall provide verification, on a form that the Board requires, from employers, supervisors, or colleagues that the applicant has practiced clinical professional counseling for the length of time stated in §D(1) of this regulation.

E. If the applicant is registered with the National Credentials Registry (NCR) of the American Association of State Counseling Boards (AASCB) or its successor as meeting the out-of-State applicant requirements for Maryland, the Board may issue a license upon the applicant's achieving a passing score on an examination testing the applicant's knowledge of Maryland law and regulations governing professional counselors.