10.07.02.75

.75 Criminal Penalties.

A. A person maintaining or operating a nursing home without a license is guilty of a misdemeanor, and, on conviction, is liable for a fine of not more than $1,000 for the first offense and not more than $10,000 for each subsequent conviction in accordance with Health-General Article, §19-358, Annotated Code of Maryland.

B. Each day that the nursing home continues to operate without a license after the first conviction is a subsequent offense and may subject the operator to further criminal prosecution.

C. A person maintaining and operating a nursing home that is in violation of this chapter is guilty of a misdemeanor, and, on conviction, shall be fined not more than $1,000 under the authority of Health-General Article, §19-359, Annotated Code of Maryland.

D. Each day that the nursing home operates after the first conviction, without correction of the cited violation, is considered a subsequent offense and may subject the operator to further prosecution.