A. A civil money penalty payment is due 15 calendar days after:
(1) The time period for requesting a hearing has expired and a request for hearing was not received; or
(2) Receipt of a written request from the facility to waive its right to a hearing and reduce the amount of the civil money penalty by 40 percent provided the written request is received by the Department within 30 calendar days of the Department's order imposing the civil money penalty.
B. Within 15 days of the request for an appeal by a nursing facility, the nursing facility shall deposit the amount of the civil money penalty in an interest-bearing escrow account. If a per day civil money penalty is in effect at the time the escrow account is established, the amount owed on that date shall be deposited into the escrow account. The nursing facility shall bear any cost associated with establishing the escrow account, and the account shall be titled in the name of the nursing facility and the Maryland Department of Health as joint owners.
C. When the Secretary issues the final decision of the Department:
(1) If the decision upholds the imposition of the full civil money penalty, the escrow funds, in addition to the amount of any per day civil money penalty that has accrued after the initial deposit into the escrow account, shall be released to the Department within 15 days from the date of the decision;
(2) If the decision upholds the imposition of a civil money penalty, but reduces the amount of the civil money penalty, the amount due the Department shall be released to the Department with accrued interest within 15 days of the date of the decision and the balance will be released to the nursing facility within 15 days of the date of the decision; or
(3) If the decision reverses the imposition of the civil penalty, the escrow funds shall be released to the nursing facility with accrued interest within 15 days of the decision.
D. If a facility does not release or pay the civil money penalty to the Department after the Secretary has issued a final decision upholding the civil money penalty and after notice to the facility, the State may deduct the amount of the civil money penalty from any sum that is then or later owed by the State to the facility, pursuant to State Finance and Procurement Article, §7-222, Annotated Code of Maryland.