09.22.03.06

.06 Complaints and Violations in Beauty Schools.

A. This regulation applies whenever a complaint is made to the Board by an inspector, member of the Board, or any other person in regard to the sanitary condition of a cosmetology school or the sanitary practice of cosmetology performed at a cosmetology school.

B. Upon receipt of a complaint, in compliance with Business Occupations and Professions Article, §5-509, Annotated Code of Maryland, an inspector shall investigate the complaint, and the Board shall determine if the complaint alleges grounds adequate to warrant action by the Board.

C. If the Board determines that the complaint does not allege grounds adequate to warrant action by the Board, the Board shall dismiss the complaint.

D. If the Board determines that the complaint does allege grounds adequate to warrant action by the Board, the Board shall notify the owner of the school, or an authorized representative of the school, in writing, and provide the owner of the school with an opportunity to correct the violation.

E. If the owner corrects each alleged violation within 10 days of the written notification, the Board shall dismiss the complaint and notify the owner.

F. If the owner fails to correct each alleged violation within 10 days of the written notification, the Board shall institute and conduct a hearing as provided in State Government Article, Title 10, Subtitle 2, Annotated Code of Maryland.

G. If the Board conducts a hearing and concludes that the owner has violated one or more sanitation regulations, the Board may impose a fine not to exceed $300 for each violation.

H. The Board shall report the sanitation violation and the amount of fine imposed to the Department of Education in regard to a public school or to the Maryland Higher Education Commission in regard to a private career school.