09.14.17.13

.13 Injuries Sustained During Competition.

A. If an injury sustained during competition as a result of a legal maneuver is severe enough to terminate a contest, the injured amateur mixed martial arts contestant shall lose by a technical knockout.

B. If an injury sustained during competition as a result of an intentional foul is severe enough to terminate a contest, the amateur mixed martial arts contestant causing the injury shall be disqualified.

C. If an injury is sustained during competition as a result of an intentional foul and the contest is allowed to continue, the referee shall notify the scorekeeper to automatically deduct one or more points from the contestant who committed the foul.

D. If an injury sustained during competition as a result of an intentional foul causes the injured amateur mixed martial arts contestant to be unable to continue at a subsequent point in the contest:

(1) The injured amateur mixed martial arts contestant shall win by technical decision if he or she is ahead on the scorecards at the time of the stoppage; and

(2) The contest shall be declared a technical draw if the injured amateur mixed martial arts contestant is even or behind on the score cards at the time of stoppage.

E. If an amateur mixed martial arts contestant injures himself or herself while attempting to foul his or her opponent:

(1) The referee may not take any action in his or her favor; and

(2) The injury shall be treated in the same manner as an injury produced by a fair blow.

F. If an accidental foul occurs and the injured mixed martial arts contestant is able to continue, the referee shall notify both corners, the judges, and the organization of the accidental foul not later than the end of the round in which the accidental foul took place.

G. If an injury sustained during competition as a result of an accidental foul is severe enough for the referee to stop the contest immediately or in a subsequent round, the contest shall result in a no contest if the accidental foul occurs before one round has been completed in a three-round contest.

H. If an injury sustained during competition as a result of an accidental foul is severe enough for the referee to stop the contest immediately or in a subsequent round, the contest shall result in a technical decision awarded to the amateur mixed martial arts contestant who is ahead on the score cards at the time the contest is stopped if the contest is stopped after one round has been completed in a three-round contest.

I. An incomplete round may not be scored.