A. A respondent shall file a written response to the statement of charges.
B. Time for Filing.
(1) Unless the Agency has issued a cease and desist order under Commercial Law Article, §13-403(d) or 14-12B-08(a), Annotated Code of Maryland, without first conducting a hearing, the respondent shall file the response:
(a) Within 20 days of service of the statement of charges; and
(b) Within 20 days of service of an amended statement of charges if a respondent wishes to contest new facts or allegations introduced in the amended statement of charges.
(2) If the Agency has issued a cease and desist order under Commercial Law Article, §13-403(d) or 14-12B-08(a), Annotated Code of Maryland, and if a hearing is requested, the respondent shall file the response with the request for hearing.
C. Content. The respondent shall state in the response all affirmative and negative defenses, and shall:
(1) Admit or deny each allegation in the statement of charges;
(2) Generally deny all allegations in the statement of charges except for those allegations that are specifically admitted; or
(3) State that the respondent is without knowledge or information sufficient to form a belief concerning the truth of any allegation, which statement has the effect of a denial.
D. Effect of Failure to Deny. Unless denied in a timely-filed response, allegations are admitted.
E. Effect of Failure to File Response. Failure to timely file a response may be grounds for issuance of a default order under Regulation .17 of this chapter.