Skip to Main Content
<< Back | Return to Main COMAR Search Page

7 records match your request.

FileAbstract
31.08.10.00.htm 31.08.10.00. Title 31 MARYLAND INSURANCE ADMINISTRATION Subtitle 08 PROPERTY AND CASUALTY INSURANCE Chapter 10 Medical Professional Insurers Online Claim Survey Reporting Requirements Authority: Insurance Article, §4-401 and 4-405, Annotated Code of Maryland
31.08.10.01.htm 31.08.10.01. 01 Definitions.. A. In this chapter, the following terms have the meanings indicated.. B. Terms Defined.. 1) "Amount paid to claimant" means the amount of claim settlements and claim awards.. 2) "Closed claim" means a claim filed with the Director of the Health Care Alternative Dispute Resolution Office under Courts and Judicial Proceedings Article, §3-2A-04, Annotated Code of Maryland, that has resulted in:a) A final judgment in any amount;. b) A settlement in any amount; or.
31.08.10.02.htm 31.08.10.02. 02 Financial Information Report.. A. Scope. An insurer that issues professional liability insurance to health care providers in the State shall submit to the Commissioner a financial information report.B. Confidential Information.. 1) An insurer that submits a financial information report shall notify the Commissioner at the time of the submission of any information contained in the report that the insurer considers to be proprietary information.2) The Commissioner, in a
31.08.10.03.htm 31.08.10.03. 03 Closed Claim Survey.. A. Scope. Each insurer that issues professional liability insurance in the State shall complete and submit to the Commissioner a closed claim survey form, as described in Regulation .04 of this chapter, for each closed claim.B. Within 90 days after the end of each calendar quarter, an insurer shall complete and submit to the Commissioner the closed claim survey forms for claims closed by the insurer in that quarter.C. The closed claim surve
31.08.10.04.htm 31.08.10.04. 04 Required Information.. The following information shall be reported on a closed claim survey form:. A. Name of insurer;. B. Name of insurer group;. C. Claim file identification (ID). D. Name of person completing the form;. E. Telephone number, including area code, of person completing the form;. F. Date form completed;. G. Date of injury;. H. Date injury reported to insurer;. I. Date claim closed;. J. Whether the claim was previously reported;.
31.08.10.05.htm 31.08.10.05. 05 Penalties.. Failure to report in accordance with this chapter may result in the imposition by the Commissioner of a civil penalty of up to $5,000.
31.08.10.9999.htm 31.08.10.9999. Administrative History Effective date: May 22, 2006 (33:10 Md. R. 882). Regulation .02B amended effective January 1, 2018 (44:4 Md. R. 256).
<< Back | Return to Main COMAR Search Page