Skip to Main Content
<< Back | Return to Main COMAR Search Page

16 records match your request.

FileAbstract
29.04.08.00.htm 29.04.08.00. Title 29 DEPARTMENT OF STATE POLICE Subtitle 04 LICENSING AND PERMITS Chapter 08 Private Detective Agency Licenses and Private Detective Certifications Authority: Business Occupations and Professions Article, §13-202, Annotated Code of Maryland
29.04.08.01.htm 29.04.08.01. 01 Applicant for Agency License.. A. In this chapter, "licensee" includes an applicant for a private detective agency license, except that written charges may not be filed against an applicant.B. An applicant shall submit an application provided by the Secretary of State Police with the following signatures:1) If the applicant is an individual, the application form shall be signed under oath by the individual; and2) If the applicant is a firm, the application for
29.04.08.02.htm 29.04.08.02. 02 Renewal of Agency License.. A. Renewed private detective agency licenses are for a 2-year term, staggered by the Secretary. Expiration dates are either January 31 or July 31.B. As a condition for license renewal, a licensee shall submit to the Secretary:. 1) A properly completed renewal application;. 2) Statements required by Business Occupations and Professions Article, §13-309, Annotated Code of Maryland;
29.04.08.03.htm 29.04.08.03. 03 Certification.. A. Application.. 1) Each individual employee of a private detective agency acting as a private detective is required to submit an application on forms prescribed by the Secretary.2) The licensed agency will be provided with applications that shall be completed by the agency and the applicant.3) The fee for a private detective certification is $15 plus payment for the cost of both the State and national fingerprint card record checks. The check or money order shall
29.04.08.04.htm 29.04.08.04. 04 Renewal of Certification.. A. Renewed private detective certifications are for a 3-year term.. B. As a condition for certification renewal, an applicant shall submit to the Licensing Division:. 1) A properly completed renewal application; and. 2) A fee of $15 plus payment for the cost of both the State and national fingerprint card record checks.C. The check or money order shall be made payable to the Maryland State Police.. D. The applicant shall mail or deliver the applica
29.04.08.05.htm 29.04.08.05. 05 Authorization for Employment Verification Required.. An application may not be submitted by an applicant, and a licensee may not submit an application on behalf of an employee for any person who is not a born or naturalized citizen of the United States, unless there is attached to the application a valid work authorization from the Immigration and Naturalization Service.
29.04.08.06.htm 29.04.08.06. 06 Certification Card.. A. An individual applying for employment as a private detective, on certification, shall be issued a certification card by the State Police.B. The issuance and form of the certification shall be in conformance with Business Occupations and Professions Article, §13-406, Annotated Code of Maryland.
29.04.08.07.htm 29.04.08.07. 07 Duplicate Certification Cards.. A. A lost, stolen, or damaged certification card shall be reported to the Licensing Division immediately.B. An individual reporting a lost or stolen certification card shall:. 1) Provide a notarized letter, on company letterhead, verifying present employment and indicating the circumstances of the loss;2) Provide any police reports, if available;. 3) Make an appointment to come into the Licensing Division with proper photo identification;.
29.04.08.08.htm 29.04.08.08. 08 Badges.. Use of badges by private detective agencies is subject to the following conditions:. A. Authorization shall be requested in writing on agency letterhead specifying the total number of badges required;B. Written approval shall be received from the Maryland State Police Licensing Division before issuing any badges;C. The badges used:. 1) Shall be numbered consecutively within the agency, with no duplication, from number 1;.
29.04.08.09.htm 29.04.08.09. 09 Disqualification.. A. Disqualification.. 1) If an applicant for a private detective certification card does not meet the standards set forth in Business Occupations and Professions Article, Title 13, Annotated Code of Maryland, or this chapter, the employing agency shall receive written notification of disqualification.2) An appeal of the disqualification shall be made in writing to the Licensing Division, State Police, within 30 days of receiving written notice.
29.04.08.10.htm 29.04.08.10. 10 Denials of Licenses and Certifications.. A. Informal Review. On initially determining that an applicant or firm does not meet the standards set forth in Business Occupations and Professions Article, Title 13, Annotated Code of Maryland, or this chapter, the Secretary may:1) Notify the applicant to appear for an informal review of the application;. 2) Ask the applicant to produce additional documentation for the Secretary to consider; and. 3) If the applicant fails
29.04.08.11.htm 29.04.08.11. 11 Appointment of Licensee Upon Vacancy.. A. Upon the vacancy of a representative member, an agency shall comply with the time requirements for appointment of a new licensee pursuant to Business Occupations and Professions Article, §13-311, Annotated Code of Maryland.B. An agency may sponsor a new applicant for consideration by the Secretary; however, an appointment may not be made until the Secretary determines that the new applicant qualifies for an agency license.
29.04.08.12.htm 29.04.08.12. 12 Surrender of Agency License or Certification.. A. A private detective agency license or certification card issued to the applicant is valid only for the agency identified on the license or certification card.B. The card remains the property of the State and shall be returned to the Secretary by the licensee or the card holder, through the Licensing Division, within 5 days after:1) It is voluntarily surrendered;. 2) It is suspended or revoked by the Secretary for
29.04.08.13.htm 29.04.08.13. 13 Armed Private Detectives; Documentation of Weapon Information Required.. A. If a private detective agency employs armed private detectives, the agency shall maintain a list for each armed private detective of:1) The weapon type;. 2) The weapon's serial number; and. 3) Whether the weapon is agency owned or personally owned.. B. The personnel file for each armed employee shall contain a photocopy of the handgun permit for each private detective who C. An armed private detec
29.04.08.14.htm 29.04.08.14. 14 Reprimands, Fines, Suspensions, and Revocations.. A. To provide consistency in certain actions taken against any licensee, firm, or person that holds a private detective certification, a penalty matrix is established in §D of this regulation.B. For the purpose of this chapter, a license term is defined as the period of time from the date of issuance of a license to the date of expiration or revocation, inclusive of all renewals.C. The penalty matrix is a general working guide.
29.04.08.9999.htm 29.04.08.9999. Administrative History Effective date: July 30, 2007 (34:15 Md. R. 1350).
<< Back | Return to Main COMAR Search Page