Skip to Main Content
<< Back | Return to Main COMAR Search Page

10 records match your request.

FileAbstract
20.30.02.00.htm 20.30.02.00. Title 20 PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION Subtitle 30 CUSTOMER DEPOSITS, LATE PAYMENT CHARGES, AND CUSTOMERS' RIGHTS PAMPHLET Chapter 02 Residential Customer Deposits Authority: Public Utilities Article, §2-113, 2-121, 4-503(a) 5-101, and 5-105, Annotated Code of Maryland
20.30.02.01.htm 20.30.02.01. 01 Declaration of Public Policy.. A. The Public Service Commission of Maryland, in these regulations referred to as the "Commission, declares that it is in the public interest for each utility to fairly and without discrimination administer a reasonable policy reflected by written regulations, in accord with these regulations, which will permit an applicant for permanent residential service to establish, or an existing residence customer to re-establish, credit with the utility f
20.30.02.02.htm 20.30.02.02. 02 Establishment of Credit.. A. Except as provided in §C of this regulation, a utility may require each applicant for residential service to establish credit in compliance with the methods and procedures listed in §B of this regulation.B. Methods of Establishing Credit.. 1) In order to establish credit, a utility may require an applicant for residential service to demonstrate good paying habits by showing that the applicant:
20.30.02.03.htm 20.30.02.03. 03 Reestablishment of Credit.. A. A utility may require an applicant for residential service who is a present or former residential customer of that utility to reestablish credit under Regulation .02 of this chapter at the time of the application if one of the following exists:1) Customer owes an outstanding bill for a prior residential service;. 2) Customer's residential account had been terminated by the utility during the last 12 months of prior service because of no
20.30.02.04.htm 20.30.02.04. 04 Deposit.. A. Amount of Deposit. The deposit required by the utility may not be less than $5 or more in amount than 2/12 of the estimated charges for service for the ensuing 12 months, except that an amount equal to 3/12 of the estimated charge for service for the ensuing 12 months will be permitted for those utilities which bill quarterly. If the actual billing is substantially different from the estimated charge for service, then the amount of the deposit
20.30.02.04-1.htm 20.30.02.04-1. 04-1 Use of Deposit.. A utility may apply a residential customer deposit plus accrued interest, first against any unpaid balance due the utility for that service as determined by the final bill issued to the customer, and then against any unpaid balance due the utility on any other residential account of that customer.
20.30.02.05.htm 20.30.02.05. 05 Refund of Deposit.. A. Discontinuance of Service. Upon discontinuance of service, the utility shall promptly and automatically refund the customer's deposit plus accrued interest, or the balance, if any, in excess of the unpaid bills for service furnished by the utility. A transfer of service from one premises to another within the service area of the utility may not be deemed a discontinuance of service within the meaning of these regulations.B. Good Payment Record. I
20.30.02.06.htm 20.30.02.06. 06 Appeal by Applicant or Customer.. A. Appeal to Utility Supervisory Personnel. Each utility shall direct its personnel engaged in initial contact with an applicant for service, or customer seeking to establish or re-establish credit under the provisions of these regulations to refer the applicant or customer, at his request, to supervisory personnel for further consideration of his problem.B. Appeal to Commission Personnel. Each utility shall further direct the su
20.30.02.07.htm 20.30.02.07. 07 Information to Customers.. Each utility, upon request, shall furnish a copy of these regulations to the applicant for service or customer from whom a deposit is required and the copy shall contain the name, address, and telephone number of the Commission.
20.30.02.9999.htm 20.30.02.9999. Administrative History Effective date: July 1, 1970 (Order No. 58089). Regulations .02 and .03 repealed effective November 18, 1985 (12:23 Md. R. 2222). Regulations .02, .03, and .04-1 adopted effective November 18, 1985 (12:23 Md. R. 2222). Regulation .04 amended effective November 18, 1985 (12:23 Md. R. 2222). Regulation .04C amended effective March 1, 1993 (20:4 Md. R. 373). Regulation .04G amended effective September 21, 2009 (36:19 Md. R. 1438).
<< Back | Return to Main COMAR Search Page