Skip to Main Content
<< Back | Return to Main COMAR Search Page

9 records match your request.

FileAbstract
14.09.12.00.htm 14.09.12.00. Title 14 INDEPENDENT AGENCIES Subtitle 09 WORKERS' COMPENSATION COMMISSION Chapter 12 Responsibilities of Insurers Authority: Insurance Article, §19-406; Labor and Employment Article, §9-309, 9-404, 9-405, 9-409, 9-410, and 9-744; Annotated Code of Maryland
14.09.12.01.htm 14.09.12.01. 01 Definitions.. A. In this chapter, the following term has the meaning indicated.. B. Terms Defined.. 1) "Competent Individual" means an individual who has sufficient skill, knowledge, and experience to handle and adjust disputed claims and who has authority to resolve claims without having to routinely contact an out-of-State representative of the insurer.2) "Commission designee" means the National Council on Compensation Insurance or any other entity that the Commission, from t
14.09.12.02.htm 14.09.12.02. 02 Notices of Insurance, Cancellation, Reinstatement, and Election of Coverage.. A. Notice of Insurance. When an insurance policy is issued or renewed, the insurer issuing or renewing it shall file a Notice of Insurance with the Commission designee within 30 days after the effective date of the policy.B. Notice of Cancellation.. 1) Required Filing. When an insurance policy is cancelled by the insurer or by the insured, the insurer shall file a Notice of Cancellation with the C
14.09.12.03.htm 14.09.12.03. 03 Handling and Adjusting Disputed Claims.. A. An insurer that provides workers' compensation insurance in Maryland shall have in the State competent individuals who:1) Handle and adjust each disputed workers' compensation claim for the insurer; and. 2) Possess the knowledge and experience to handle and adjust each disputed claim.. B. If an insurer files issues to dispute a claim, the filing shall be done in the State by competent individuals who:
14.09.12.04.htm 14.09.12.04. 04 Failure to Comply.. A. Fine.. 1) An insurer found in violation of Regulation .03 of this chapter may be fined up to $1,000 per offense.2) Each day a violation is continued after the first fine is a separate offense.. B. Revocation of Self-Insurance Approval. A violation of Regulation .03 of this chapter that jeopardizes prompt and fair compensation of a Maryland workers' compensation claim may be grounds for the revocation of an employer's self-insurance approval
14.09.12.05.htm 14.09.12.05. 05 Hearing Procedure.. A. Notice of Agency Action.. 1) If the Commission has reasonable cause to believe that an insurer has violated Regulation .03 of this chapter, the Commission shall give reasonable notice of the alleged violation and the action the Commission proposes to take.2) The notice shall state:. a) The facts that are asserted;. b) If the facts cannot be stated in detail when the notice is given, the issues that are involved;.
14.09.12.06.htm 14.09.12.06. 06 Penalty for Failure to Submit Required Case Payment Report.. A. The Commission may assess against an insurer a fine not to exceed $1,000 for any unexcused failure to file a case payment report as required under Labor and Employment Article, §9-313(b) Annotated Code of Maryland.B. Schedule of Assessments. The schedule of assessments established by the Commission is as follows:. Date. Amount Not To Exceed. Referral to Central Collection Unit and Insurance Commissioner.
14.09.12.07.htm 14.09.12.07. 07 Appeal.. An appeal from a decision made under this chapter shall be made in accordance with Maryland Rules 7-200, et seq. and COMAR 14.09.11.
14.09.12.9999.htm 14.09.12.9999. Administrative History Effective date: March 3, 2014 (41:4 Md. R. 303). Regulation .02B amended effective January 7, 2016 (42:26 Md. R. 1596).
<< Back | Return to Main COMAR Search Page