Skip to Main Content
<< Back | Return to Main COMAR Search Page

13 records match your request.

FileAbstract
13b.05.01.00.htm 13B.05.01.00. Title 13B MARYLAND HIGHER EDUCATION COMMISSION Subtitle 05 FULLY ONLINE PROGRAMS Chapter 01 Registration Authority: Education Article, §11-105(u) 11-202, 11-202.2, and 24-707, Annotated Code of Maryland
13b.05.01.01.htm 13B.05.01.01. 01 Definitions.. A. In this chapter, the following terms have the meanings indicated.. B. Terms Defined.. 1) "Commission" means the Maryland Higher Education Commission.. 2) "Enroll" means to register a student, in any semester or other instructional period, in a course in an online program.3) "Institution" means an institution of higher education that enrolls one or more Maryland students in an online program.4) “Maryland student” means a student who is domic
13b.05.01.02.htm 13B.05.01.02. 02 Scope.. This chapter does not apply to an online program that:. A. Is subject to program review by the Commission under COMAR 13B.02.03;. B. Participates in the Southern Regional Education Board’s Electronic Campus; or. C. Is offered by an institution approved by its state authority to participate in SARA..
13b.05.01.03.htm 13B.05.01.03. 03 Delegation.. The Commission has delegated to the Secretary authority to act in its behalf on applications for registration filed by institutions under this chapter.
13b.05.01.04.htm 13B.05.01.04. 04 Registration Required.. An institution that enrolls a Maryland student in an online program:. A. Shall file an application for registration with the Commission before or within 3 months of enrolling the first Maryland student; andB. Except as provided in Regulation .07B of this chapter, may not commence or continue enrollment of Maryland students without registering with the Commission before or within 3 months of enrolling the first Maryland student.
13b.05.01.05.htm 13B.05.01.05. 05 Accreditation Required.. A. Accreditation Requirement.. 1) An institution required to register under this chapter that is not accredited by an accrediting body recognized and approved by the U.S. Department of Education may not receive a registration from the Commission.2) If an institution’s accreditation is terminated, the institution’s registration in Maryland shall cease effective the date that accreditation is terminated, unless the institution continues to be a
13b.05.01.06.htm 13B.05.01.06. 06 Registration Procedure.. A. An institution seeking registration with the Commission as required in Regulation .04 of this chapter shall submit to the Commission:1) An application for registration in the form required by the Secretary;. 2) An application fee in the amount of:. a) For an institution having an enrollment of no more than 20 Maryland students, $500; and. b) For an institution having an enrollment of more than 20 Maryland students, $1,000;.
13b.05.01.07.htm 13B.05.01.07. 07 Financial Guarantee.. A. If a Maryland student is enrolled before an institution is registered or when an institution's registration expires, the institution must file an application for registration as required in Regulation .04A of this chapter and provide a financial guarantee to the Commission in order to commence or continue enrollment of Maryland students.B. An institution that files an application and provides a financial guarantee under this regulation
13b.05.01.08.htm 13B.05.01.08. 08 Effect of Registration Denial.. If an institution is denied registration, the institution shall:. A. Immediately notify all Maryland students that their enrollment is terminated as of the date that registration is finally denied;B. Within 60 days of the date that registration is finally denied, refund to each Maryland student 100 percent of tuition and fees paid to the institution; andC. Provide documentation to the Commission that all refunds due to Maryland
13b.05.01.09.htm 13B.05.01.09. 09 Duration of Registration.. A. A registration is valid during 1 fiscal year from July 1 through June 30.. B. A registration issued at any time during a fiscal year expires on June 30 of that fiscal year.. C. An institution seeking registration for the next fiscal year following its current registration shall file an application for registration in accordance with Regulation .06 of this chapter.
13b.05.01.10.htm 13B.05.01.10. 10 Refund Policy.. A. Except as provided in §B of this regulation, an institution's refund policy shall conform to this regulation and the institution shall provide for refunds of tuition to Maryland students as provided in this regulation.B. If an institution's refund policy is more beneficial to Maryland students, the institution shall follow its refund policy and provide for refunds of tuition to Maryland students as provided in that policy.C. Minimum Refund..
13b.05.01.11.htm 13B.05.01.11. 11 Institutional Operations.. An institution that is registered under this chapter shall:. A. Promptly notify the Commission of:. 1) A change in ownership or a change in majority control;. 2) A material change in the institution's financial status;. 3) A filing for bankruptcy protection under Title 11 of the U.S. Code;. 4) A change in the institution's business standing in the state in which the central administration of the institution is incorporated;5) Any communication rece
13b.05.01.9999.htm 13B.05.01.9999. Administrative History Effective date:. Regulations .01―11 adopted as an emergency provision effective July 1, 2012 (39:17 Md. R. 1146) emergency provision repealed effective October 17, 2012 (39:23 Md. R. 1531) ―Regulations .01―11 adopted as an emergency provision effective October 17, 2012 (39:23 Md. R. 1531) adopted permanently effective February 18, 2013 (40:3 Md. R. 219)Regulation .01B amended effective December 21, 2015 (42:25 Md. R. 1545). Regulation .02 amended ef
<< Back | Return to Main COMAR Search Page