Skip to Main Content
<< Back | Return to Main COMAR Search Page

13 records match your request.

FileAbstract
11.15.32.00.htm 11.15.32.00. Title 11 DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION Subtitle 15 MOTOR VEHICLE ADMINISTRATION ― VEHICLE REGISTRATION Chapter 32 Low Speed Vehicles Authority: Transportation Article, §12-104(b) 11-130.1, 13-101.1, 13-402, 13-403, and 21-1125, Annotated Code of Maryland
11.15.32.01.htm 11.15.32.01. 01 Applicability.. This chapter applies to vehicles originally manufactured as low speed vehicles with originally installed equipment or equipment manufactured and installed to meet the federal and State safety requirements for low speed vehicles.
11.15.32.02.htm 11.15.32.02. 02 Purpose.. The purpose of this chapter is to establish procedures for the titling, registration, and operation of low speed vehicles on certain highways in Maryland.
11.15.32.03.htm 11.15.32.03. 03 Incorporation by Reference.. In this chapter, 49 CFR §571.500, as amended, is incorporated by reference..
11.15.32.04.htm 11.15.32.04. 04 Definitions.. A. In this chapter, the following terms have the meanings indicated.. B. Terms Defined.. 1) "Administration" means the Motor Vehicle Administration.. 2) "Low speed vehicle" has the meaning stated in Transportation Article §11-130.1, Annotated Code of Maryland.
11.15.32.05.htm 11.15.32.05. 05 Equipment.. A. All low speed vehicles and all equipment originally installed or manufactured and installed in low speed vehicles shall meet the safety standards requirements of 49 CFR §571.500 and COMAR 11.14.09.B. Low speed vehicles are not required to have the following equipment:. 1) Exhaust systems;. 2) Emissions equipment; or. 3) Fuel systems.. C. All low speed vehicles shall be equipped with an odometer..
11.15.32.06.htm 11.15.32.06. 06 Vehicle Class.. The Administration shall title and register low speed vehicles as Class R..
11.15.32.07.htm 11.15.32.07. 07 Title and Registration Requirements.. The owner of a low speed vehicle in this State shall:. A. Apply for a certificate of title, as required by Transportation Article §13-402, Annotated Code of Maryland;B. Apply to the Administration for the registration of the vehicle as specified in Transportation Article §13-403, Annotated Code of Maryland, in order to operate a low speed vehicle on Maryland highways;C. Provide evidence of required security prior to registration of the low s
11.15.32.08.htm 11.15.32.08. 08 Disclosure to Low Speed Vehicle Buyer.. A. A vehicle dealer selling a low speed vehicle shall provide a written disclosure signed by the buyer at the time of purchase. The disclosure shall include a statement that the low speed vehicle:1) Has a maximum speed of greater than 20 miles per hour, but less than 25 miles per hour;. 2) May not be operated on a public highway with a speed limit in excess of 30 miles per hour;.
11.15.32.09.htm 11.15.32.09. 09 Disclosure Decal.. Prior to the sale of a low speed vehicle, a permanent decal provided by the manufacturer or dealer shall be affixed to the underside of the roof near the windshield on the driver side. The disclosure decal shall:A. Be approximately 3 inches high by 5 inches wide; and. B. Contain the disclosure statement information specified in Regulation .08 of this chapter..
11.15.32.10.htm 11.15.32.10. 10 Low Speed Vehicles Driving Prohibitions.. A. Low speed vehicles are prohibited on Maryland highways as defined in Transportation Article, §21-1125, Annotated Code of Maryland.B. Low speed vehicles may not be driven:. 1) On a highway for which the posted maximum speed limit exceeds 30 miles per hour;. 2) On an expressway or any controlled access highway on which prohibitions are posted in accordance with Transportation Article, §21-313, Annotated Co3) On a highway on which
11.15.32.11.htm 11.15.32.11. 11 Overweight Low Speed Vehicles.. A. The Administration may designate a vehicle an overweight low speed vehicle.. B. To qualify as an overweight low speed vehicle, the owner may apply to the Administration and certify that the overweight low speed vehicle meets the federal motor vehicle safety standards for a low speed vehicle except for the weight of the vehicle.C. The overweight low speed vehicle shall:. 1) Weigh in excess of 3,000 GVWR but less than 10,000 GVWR;.
11.15.32.9999.htm 11.15.32.9999. Administrative History Effective date:. Regulations .01―10 adopted as an emergency provision effective January 1, 2006 (33:4 Md. R. 350) adopted permanently effective May 22, 2006 (33:10 Md. R. 881)Regulation .11 adopted effective September 21, 2020 (47:19 Md. R. 849).
<< Back | Return to Main COMAR Search Page