Skip to Main Content
<< Back | Return to Main COMAR Search Page

26 records match your request.

FileAbstract
11.07.03.00.htm 11.07.03.00. Title 11 DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION Subtitle 07 MARYLAND TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY Chapter 03 Permits for Towing, Road Service, and Storage of Vehicles Authority: Transportation Article, §4-204, 4-205, 4-208, 4-208.1, 21-1403, 21-1407, and 26-301 et seq. Annotated Code of Maryland
11.07.03.01.htm 11.07.03.01. 01 Definitions.. A. In these regulations, the following terms have the meanings indicated.. B. Terms Defined.. 1) "Abandoned vehicle" has the same meaning as defined in Transportation Article, §25-201(b) Annotated Code of Maryland.2) "Authority" means the Maryland Transportation Authority.. 3) Authority Property.. a) "Authority property" means property owned, leased, operated by, or under the control of the Maryland Transportation Authority.b) Authority property includes a:.
11.07.03.02.htm 11.07.03.02. 02 Scope.. A. These regulations govern the application for, and issuance of, permits to towing service companies that provide towing, road service, and storage of vehicles on a 7-day-per-week, 24-hour-per-day basis for disabled vehicles, impounded vehicles, improperly parked vehicles, or unattended vehicles on Authority property.B. The Authority may, in the public interest, waive all or a portion of these regulations dealing with equipment or other requirements for permits bas
11.07.03.03.htm 11.07.03.03. 03 Application for Permit and Renewal.. A. A towing service company may not provide towing, road service, or storage of disabled or impounded vehicles on or from Authority property unless the towing service company has been granted a permit under these regulations.B. At least every 5 years, the Authority shall publish on its website and through eMaryland Marketplace a notice of the open application period to apply for a permit under these regulations.C. Upon such notice, a to
11.07.03.04.htm 11.07.03.04. 04 Zones.. A. Application for Permit.. 1) A towing service company shall file with the Maryland Transportation Authority Police an application for a permit for the Authority property or zone for which the towing service company desires to provide towing, road service, and storage of vehicles.2) In order to provide for the highest level of service to the public, it is the intent of the Authority that a qualified towing service company shall be limited to only one A
11.07.03.05.htm 11.07.03.05. 05 Application Fee ― Repealed.
11.07.03.06.htm 11.07.03.06. 06 Authority to Issue Permits.. The Maryland Transportation Authority Police may issue or renew permits, provided that the towing service company is in compliance with the requirements of these regulations and all other applicable laws.
11.07.03.07.htm 11.07.03.07. 07 Requirements for Permits ― Experience and Equipment.. A. A permittee shall comply with the following requirements in order to apply for and maintain a permit under these regulations.B. A towing service company shall have at least 2 years experience in providing towing services and heavy recovery on a commercial basis.C. Equipment.. 1) A permittee shall be required to have and provide proof of ownership or leasehold of the following equipment:a) Two heavy-duty tow tru
11.07.03.08.htm 11.07.03.08. 08 Requirements for Permits ― Equipment Operators and Facilities.. A. Equipment Operators.. 1) Equipment operators shall have in their possession a valid commercial driver's license (CDL) with a minimum rating of Class B.2) Equipment operators shall be familiar with and comply with all Maryland vehicle laws.. 3) Equipment operators shall be fully trained and thoroughly familiar with the operation of the equipment being used.
11.07.03.09.htm 11.07.03.09. 09 Authority Actions on Permit Applications.. A. Upon receipt of an application for a permit, the Chief of Police or the Chief's designee may compile and review the required documentation and may conduct on-site inspections, check appropriate business records, and conduct necessary interviews to verify whether the applicant meets the minimum basic requirements identified in Regulations .07 and .08 of this chapter and is otherwise qualified for a permit.B. If an applicant is det
11.07.03.10.htm 11.07.03.10. 10 Access to Property of the Authority.. A. The Authority shall allow access onto Authority property to the extent necessary for a permittee to perform services permitted under these regulations. Tolls for a permittee's use of Authority property in connection with services performed under a permit may not be waived. The permittee may recover from the motorist of the towed vehicle the actual cost of the tolls charged for use of Authority property.B. Unless otherwise requi
11.07.03.11.htm 11.07.03.11. 11 Police Actions.. A. This regulation does not apply if an owner or operator of a vehicle requests a specific towing service company or road service organization, regardless of that entity's ability to qualify under these regulations. The Authority may honor the request if the vehicle is safely on the shoulder of the road and is not impeding traffic flow, unless:1) It would create an unreasonable time delay;. 2) A traffic safety problem exists; or.
11.07.03.12.htm 11.07.03.12. 12 Permittee's Duties.. A. A permittee shall respond only to requests made by the police for towing or road service on Authority property. In the event of a call or request for towing or road service by someone other than a police communications center, the permittee shall first clear the call with the police communications center before proceeding to the scene.B. A permittee shall have one daytime and one nighttime toll-free telephone number to receive reques
11.07.03.13.htm 11.07.03.13. 13 Absence of Operator or Owner of Vehicle.. A. If the operator or owner of a disabled vehicle is absent or unable to give instructions for the disposition of the disabled vehicle, or in the case of an unattended vehicle, the police shall impound the vehicle and direct a permittee to remove the vehicle from Authority property and tow it to the permittee's vehicle storage facility. The police shall provide the permittee with the name and address of the registered own
11.07.03.14.htm 11.07.03.14. 14 Impoundment.. A. If a vehicle is impounded by the police, the permittee shall tow and store the vehicle as directed by the police.B. A permittee may not release an impounded vehicle and any personal property contained within it to its owner or other legally authorized claimant unless the law enforcement agency that impounded the vehicle authorizes the release in writing. The permittee shall be authorized to recover the costs of towing and storage from the owner or other legal
11.07.03.15.htm 11.07.03.15. 15 Maximum Charges.. A. The Chief of Police or the Chief's designee shall establish a maximum amount that may be charged by a permittee for services rendered in connection with a permit issued under these regulations. A permittee may not charge more than the maximum amount established for such services, regardless of whether the permittee provides and performs its services on Authority property or at any other place.B. The Chief of Police or the Chief's designee sha
11.07.03.16.htm 11.07.03.16. 16 Payment for Services.. A. The operator or owner of a vehicle for which a permittee provides any services under these regulations is responsible for any charge imposed for those services. Neither the Authority nor the State is responsible or liable for any cost associated with services performed by a permittee.B. A permittee shall accept all reasonable forms of payment from the owner or operator of a vehicle for whom the permittee has performed a service in
11.07.03.17.htm 11.07.03.17. 17 Billing and Records.. A. A permittee shall make three copies of a serially numbered statement of charges for each transaction of services performed in accordance with these regulations. One copy shall be provided to the operator or owner of the vehicle for whom the service was performed, one copy shall be provided to the Chief of Police or the Chief's designee within a week after the service has been completed, and one copy shall be retained by the permittee for its records.
11.07.03.18.htm 11.07.03.18. 18 Insurance.. A. Within 10 days from the issuance of a permit by the Authority, a permittee shall furnish and maintain with the Chief of Police or the Chief's designee continuing evidence that the permittee has public liability and property damage insurance, as described in this regulation, with an insurance company or companies licensed to do business in the State.B. The insurance carried by a permittee shall protect the permittee, the Authority, and the State fr
11.07.03.19.htm 11.07.03.19. 19 Indemnification.. By accepting a permit under this chapter, a permittee shall defend, indemnify, and hold harmless the Authority and the State, their members, employees, and agents against all claims, suits, costs of every kind and description, including attorney's fees, and from liability for damages to which the Authority and the State, their members, employees, and agents may be subjected by reason of injury or damage to any person or property due to the acts o
11.07.03.20.htm 11.07.03.20. 20 Permits Not Transferrable.. A permit issued to a permittee may not be transferred to any other person..
11.07.03.21.htm 11.07.03.21. 21 Denial of Permits.. The Chief of Police or the Chief's designee may deny an application for a permit in accordance with Regulation .09 of this chapter.
11.07.03.22.htm 11.07.03.22. 22 Prohibited Actions and Enforcement.. A. The following actions are prohibited:. 1) Chasing or running wrecks without a proper request from the Police Communications Center;. 2) Soliciting at the scene of an accident or disabled vehicle; and. 3) Providing towing or road service to a disabled vehicle without clearance from the police.. B. The police may issue citations to enforce these regulations..
11.07.03.23.htm 11.07.03.23. 23 Warning, Suspension, and Revocation.. A. The Chief of Police or the Chief's designee may warn a permittee, or suspend or revoke a permit in accordance with this regulation when:1) The Authority receives a complaint from a member of the public or the police regarding the permittee, and the police determine there is a valid basis for the complaint following an investigation;2) The permittee violates any of these regulations; or. 3) The permittee violates any other law that may a
11.07.03.24.htm 11.07.03.24. 24 Appeal of Suspension or Revocation of a Permit.. A. A permittee whose permit is suspended, revoked, or denied pursuant to Regulation .09E of this chapter may appeal the suspension or revocation to the Executive Director of the Authority within 7 calendar days of receipt of the written notice of the suspension, revocation, or denial.B. The permittee shall submit in writing the reasons why the suspension, revocation, or denial was improper.C. The Executive Director
11.07.03.9999.htm 11.07.03.9999. Administrative History Effective date: January 14, 1991 (17:26 Md. R. 2976). Regulation .01B amended effective April 5, 1999 (26:7 Md. R. 544) January 30, 2006 (33:2 Md. R. 83) April 5, 2010 (37:7 Md. R. 572) August 4, 2014 (41:15 Md. R. 891)Regulation .02A amended effective April 5, 1999 (26:7 Md. R. 544) April 5, 2010 (37:7 Md. R. 572). Regulation .03 amended effective January 30, 2006 (33:2 Md. R. 83) April 5, 2010 (37:7 Md. R. 572). Regulation .03B amended e
<< Back | Return to Main COMAR Search Page