Skip to Main Content
<< Back | Return to Main COMAR Search Page

11 records match your request.

FileAbstract
10.56.01.00.htm 10.56.01.00. Title 10 DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND MENTAL HYGIENE Subtitle 56 BOARD OF DIETETIC PRACTICE Chapter 01 Licensure Authority: Health Occupations Article, §5-205, 5-301, 5-302, and 5-310, Annotated Code of Maryland
10.56.01.01.htm 10.56.01.01. 01 Scope.. A. Except as provided in §B, of this regulation, these regulations apply to a person seeking to practice dietetics in the State.B. Exceptions. These regulations do not apply to a person who:. 1) Provides nonmedical nutrition services and information to the public while:. a) Employed by or operating a health, weight loss, or fitness program,. b) Employed by or operating a health food store,. c) Employed by or operating a business that sells health products, includin
10.56.01.02.htm 10.56.01.02. 02 Definitions.. A. The following terms have the meanings indicated.. B. Terms Defined.. 1) "Accredited institution" means a college or university accredited by a regional educational accrediting association through the Council on Post-Secondary Accreditation and the United States Department of Education.2) "Act" means the Maryland Dietitians and Licensed Nutritionists Act, Health Occupations Article, §5-101―5-502, Annotated Code of Maryland.2-1) Aids in the Practice of Dietetics..
10.56.01.03.htm 10.56.01.03. 03 Application Procedures.. In order to obtain a license, the applicant shall:. A. Submit to the Board an application on the form provided by the Board;. B. Pay to the Board the application fee set forth in COMAR 10.56.02;. C. Submit evidence that the applicant:. 1) Is a registered dietitian, or. 2) Meets the requirements of Regulations .04, .05, and .07 of this chapter;. D. If the applicant is required under Regulation .07 of this chapter to take an examination, the app
10.56.01.04.htm 10.56.01.04. 04 Academic Requirements.. A. Degrees. For licensure as a dietitian or nutritionist, an applicant shall submit proof of one of the following to the Board:1) Registration through the Commission on Dietetic Registration of the American Dietetic Association and receipt of a baccalaureate or post baccalaureate degree from a college or university accredited by an educational accrediting association recognized by the Council on Higher Education and Accreditation, including a minim
10.56.01.05.htm 10.56.01.05. 05 Experience Requirements.. A. Before licensure, an applicant shall have completed a preplanned professional experience program as described under Regulation .06 of this chapter.B. An applicant for licensure shall be considered to have met the experience requirements of this regulation if the applicant is a registered dietitian or a certified nutrition specialist at the time of application.
10.56.01.06.htm 10.56.01.06. 06 A Preplanned, Professional Experience Program.. A. An applicant shall complete a Board-approved supervised, continuous, preplanned professional experience program. The applicant shall ensure that the experience program is accomplished within a span of 30 months and includes the following:1) A minimum of 100 hours shall be completed in each of the following areas:. a) Assessing individual and community food practices and nutritional status using anthropometric, bi
10.56.01.07.htm 10.56.01.07. 07 Examination Procedures.. A. Unless waived by the Board as provided in §B and C of this regulation, an applicant shall pass a Board-approved written examination before licensure.B. Waiver of Examination. The Board may waive the examination requirement for an applicant who:. 1) Pays the application fee as provided in COMAR 10.56.02; and. 2) Is:. a) A registered dietitian;. b) A certified nutrition specialist; or. c) Licensed in another state or country to practic
10.56.01.08.htm 10.56.01.08. 08 Action on Application.. A. The Board shall review all completed applications within 90 days of receipt of the completed application.B. The Board may delegate the initial review of applications to a committee of the Board.. C. At the next regular meeting of the Board, the Board may approve or deny an application reviewed by the Board or its designee.D. Upon review of an application, the Board shall either:. 1) Approve the applicant for licensure.. 3) Notify the applicant t
10.56.01.09.htm 10.56.01.09. 09 Change of Address.. A dietitian or nutritionist shall give the Board written notice of any change of address within 30 days of any change in address.
10.56.01.9999.htm 10.56.01.9999. Administrative History Effective date:. Regulations .01―09, Licensure, adopted as an emergency provision effective February 9, 1988 (15:5 Md. R. 612) emergency status extended at 15:18 Md. R. 2144; emergency status expired December 31, 1988Regulations .04 and .07 amended as an emergency provision effective August 8, 1988 (15:18 Md. R. 2144) emergency status expired December 31, 1988Regulations .01―08, General Regulations, adopted effective February 20, 1989 (16:3 Md. R. 344).
<< Back | Return to Main COMAR Search Page