Skip to Main Content
<< Back | Return to Main COMAR Search Page

12 records match your request.

FileAbstract
10.53.02.00.htm 10.53.02.00. Title 10 DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND MENTAL HYGIENE Subtitle 53 BOARD OF NURSING ― ELECTROLOGY PRACTICE COMMITTEE Chapter 02 Licensure Authority: Health Occupations Article, §8-205, 8-303, and 8-6B-01―8-6B-29, Annotated Code of Maryland
10.53.02.01.htm 10.53.02.01. 01 General Provisions for Applications.. A. An applicant shall submit:. 1) A completed application to the Board on the form that the Board requires;. 2) To a criminal history records check (CHRC) in accordance with Health Occupations Article, §8–303, Annotated Code of Maryland;3) Written evidence satisfactory to the Board that the applicant has submitted to a CHRC as required under §A(2) of this regulation by submitting:
10.53.02.02.htm 10.53.02.02. 02 Applicants for Licensure.. A. An applicant for licensure in electrology shall:. 1) Be of good moral character;. 2) Be 18 years old or older;. 3) Be a high school graduate or equivalent; and. 4) Have successfully completed an electrology program that:. a) Is in Maryland and approved by the Board; or. b) The Board determines is substantially equivalent to the program required by the Board in Maryland.B. To apply for a license, an applicant shall:.
10.53.02.03.htm 10.53.02.03. 03 Licensure by Examination.. A. An applicant shall submit to the Board at least 6 weeks before the examination:. 1) The fee for examination as set forth in COMAR 10.53.12;. 2) A certified copy of the applicant's birth certificate or other legal proof of age;. 3) A copy of:. a) Proof of completion of high school or attainment of equivalent education; and. b) A certificate of completion from each electrology instruction program attended, with verification of the number of hours c
10.53.02.04.htm 10.53.02.04. 04 Licensure by Waiver.. A. An applicant who is licensed in another state shall:. 1) Comply with all requirements under Regulation .01A of this chapter; and. 2) Submit to the Board:. a) Verification of the license;. b) Evidence of successful examination in another state that was substantially equivalent to the examinations given in this State; andc) A certificate of completion from each electrology instruction program attended that was substantially equivalent to the pr
10.53.02.05.htm 10.53.02.05. 05 Renewal of Licensure.. A. Beginning in October 2013, a licensee otherwise entitled to be licensed shall renew a license for 2 years by submitting to the Board:1) A renewal application on a form provided by the Board;. 2) The applicable fee as set forth in COMAR 10.53.12; and. 3) Evidence acceptable to the Board of completion of the CEU requirement as set forth in COMAR 10.53.04.B. On notification by the Board that a criminal history records check is required before renewal of
10.53.02.06.htm 10.53.02.06. 06 Inactive Status.. A. The Board shall place a license on inactive status if the licensee:. 1) Submits to the Board:. a) An application for inactive status on a form required by the Board; and. b) The applicable one-time fee as set forth in COMAR 10.53.12; or. 2) Fails to submit the number of CEUs required for renewal of licensure as set forth in COMAR 10.53.04.B. The Board shall reactivate a license if:. 1) The license has been inactive for less than 5 years;.
10.53.02.07.htm 10.53.02.07. 07 Reinstatement of Licensure.. A. The Board shall reinstate the license of an individual who has failed to renew licensure for less than 5 years for any reason if the individual:1) Is otherwise entitled to be licensed; and. 2) Submits to the Board:. a) An application for reinstatement on a form required by the Board within 5 years after the license expired;b) Evidence satisfactory to the Board of compliance with the CEU requirement; and. c) Written, verified evid
10.53.02.08.htm 10.53.02.08. 08 Licensure Exception.. A license is not required for a student who is practicing electrology as part of an approved clinical electrology program.
10.53.02.09.htm 10.53.02.09. 09 Instructor Licensure.. A. General Requirements. An electrologist applying for an electrology instructor's license shall:. 1) Be a licensed electrologist who has satisfied the requirements for licensure as set forth by this chapter;2) Have practiced electrology actively for at least 5 years immediately before making application;. 3) Submit an application on a form required by the Board at least 6 weeks before the instructor's examination is administered;
10.53.02.10.htm 10.53.02.10. 10 Penalties.. An individual who fails to provide the Board with a written verified background check document on request at renewal of licensure may be subject to disciplinary action under Health Occupations Article, §8-6B-18, Annotated Code of Maryland.
10.53.02.9999.htm 10.53.02.9999. Administrative History Effective date: January 16, 1984 (11:1 Md. R. 44). Regulation .01 amended effective August 5, 1991 (18:15 Md. R. 1727). Chapter, Licensure, repealed effective August 30, 1993 (20:17 Md. R. 1346) ―. Regulations .01―05 under new chapter, Requirements for Licensure, adopted effective August 30, 1993 (20:17 Md. R. 1346) ―Regulations .01―05, Requirements for Licensure, repealed and new Regulations .01―08 adopted under new chapter, Licensure, eff
<< Back | Return to Main COMAR Search Page