Skip to Main Content
<< Back | Return to Main COMAR Search Page

9 records match your request.

FileAbstract
10.38.10.00.htm 10.38.10.00. Title 10 DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND MENTAL HYGIENE Subtitle 38 BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY EXAMINERS Chapter 10 Disciplinary Sanctions, Monetary Penalties, and Civil Fines Authority: Health Occupations Article, §1-606, Annotated Code of Maryland
10.38.10.01.htm 10.38.10.01. 01 Scope.. This chapter establishes standards for the imposition of disciplinary sanctions, monetary penalties, and civil fines for violations of the Maryland Physical Therapy Act.
10.38.10.02.htm 10.38.10.02. 02 Definitions.. A. In this chapter, the following terms have the meanings indicated.. B. Terms Defined.. 1) “Act” means the Maryland Physical Therapy Act, Health Occupations Article, Title 13, Annotated Code of Maryland.2) "Board" means the State Board of Physical Therapy Examiners.. 3) “Civil fine” means a fine assessed by the Board against an individual for practicing physical therapy or limited physical therapy without a license.4) "License" means a license issued by the Board t
10.38.10.03.htm 10.38.10.03. 03 Imposition of a Penalty ― General.. Imposition of a Penalty after a Hearing. If the Board finds that there are grounds under Health Occupations Article, §13-316, Annotated Code of Maryland, to reprimand a licensee or suspend or revoke a license, the Board may impose a penalty as set forth in this chapter:A. Instead, of, or in addition to, reprimanding the licensee or suspending the license; or. B. In addition to revoking the license..
10.38.10.04.htm 10.38.10.04. 04 Guidelines for Imposition of Disciplinary Sanctions or Monetary Penalties.. A. Subject to the provisions of this chapter, the Board may impose the following sanctions and, if appropriate, penalties for violations of the Act and its regulations according to the minimum and maximum sanctions and penalties set forth in the following categories:Violation. Minimum Sanction. Maximum Sanction. Minimum Penalty. Maximum Penalty. 1). Continuing education violation. Reprimand.
10.38.10.05.htm 10.38.10.05. 05 Mitigating and Aggravating Factors to be Considered in the Assessment of the Sanction and Penalty.A. Depending on the facts and circumstances of each case, and to the extent that the facts and circumstances apply, the Board may consider, but not be limited to, the mitigating and aggravating factors outlined in §B and C of this regulation in determining whether the sanction in a particular case should fall outside the range of sanctions established by the guidelines.
10.38.10.06.htm 10.38.10.06. 06 Civil Fines.. A. Practicing on an Expired License. The Board may assess a civil fine against a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant who practices physical therapy or limited physical therapy on an expired license in the amount of $100 per day of practice past the expiration date of the license.B. Practicing Without a License.. 1) The Board may assess a civil fine of no less than $5,000 and no more than $50,000 against an individual who practices phys
10.38.10.07.htm 10.38.10.07. 07 Payment of a Penalty.. A. Unless the Board specifies otherwise, a licensee shall pay to the Board a penalty imposed under this chapter as of the date the Board's order is issued.B. Filing an appeal under State Government Article, §10-222, Annotated Code of Maryland, or Health Occupations Article, §13-318, Annotated Code of Maryland, does not automatically stay payment of a penalty imposed by the Board pursuant to this chapter.C. If a licensee fails to pay, in whole or in part
10.38.10.9999.htm 10.38.10.9999. Administrative History Effective date: May 15, 2000 (27:9 Md. R. 858). Regulation .04C amended effective April 16, 2001 (28:7 Md. R. 690) April 6, 2009 (36:7 Md. R. 525) ―. Regulations .01―06 under chapter, Monetary Penalties repealed and new Regulations .01―07 under chapter Disciplinary Sanctions, Monetary Penalties, and Civil Fines adopted effective January 23, 2012 (39:1 Md. R. 18)
<< Back | Return to Main COMAR Search Page