Skip to Main Content
<< Back | Return to Main COMAR Search Page

15 records match your request.

FileAbstract
10.32.06.00.htm 10.32.06.00. Title 10 MARYLAND DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH Subtitle 32 BOARD OF PHYSICIANS Chapter 06 Licensure of Polysomnographic Technologists Authority: Health Occupations Article, §1-606, 14-205, and 14-5C-01―14-5C-23, Annotated Code of Maryland
10.32.06.01.htm 10.32.06.01. 01 Scope.. A. This chapter governs the practice of polysomnographic technology.. B. Except as provided in §C or D of this regulation, on or before October 1, 2013, an individual shall be licensed by the Board before the individual may practice polysomnography.C. This chapter does not prohibit any polysomnographic technology student who is currently enrolled in an approved polysomnographic technology educational program from performing any of the procedures described in this chapte
10.32.06.02.htm 10.32.06.02. 02 Definitions.. A. In this chapter, the following terms have the meanings indicated.. B. Terms Defined.. 1) "Board" means the State Board of Physicians.. 2) “Board eligible” means a physician’s status that starts upon completion of all the requirements to take a sleep medicine certifying examination and lasts for a limited period of time, as determined by the American Board of Medical Specialties or the American Osteopathic Association.
10.32.06.03.htm 10.32.06.03. 03 Committee.. A. The Board shall appoint members of the Polysomnographic Professional Standards Committee as follows:1) Three polysomnographic technologists who:. a) Before October 1, 2009, are registered polysomnographic technologists; and. b) On or after October 1, 2009, are both registered polysomnographic technologists and licensed polysomnographic technologists;2) Three licensed physicians with specialty certification in sleep medicine who are specialists in t
10.32.06.04.htm 10.32.06.04. 04 Application for Initial Licensure as a Polysomnographic Technologist.. A. An applicant shall:. 1) Complete an application on a form supplied by the Board;. 2) Pay the required application fee set by the Board in Regulation .09 of this chapter;. 3) Be 18 years old or older;. 4) Be of good moral character;. 5) Demonstrate spoken and written competency in English by any of the following:. a) Documentation of graduation from a recognized English-speaking high scho
10.32.06.05.htm 10.32.06.05. 05 Scope of Practice.. A. A licensed polysomnographic technologist may practice only under the supervision of a licensed physician.B. A licensed polysomnographic technologist may practice only in a hospital sleep laboratory or a stand-alone sleep center.C. The scope of practice of a licensed polysomnographic technologist includes and is limited to the following:1) Monitoring and recording physiologic data during sleep, including sleep-related respiratory disturbances;
10.32.06.06.htm 10.32.06.06. 06 Identification; Notice.. A. A licensed polysomnographic technologist shall wear an identification tag or a badge which identifies that individual as a licensed polysomnographic technologist.B. Change of Name or Address.. 1) A licensed polysomnographic technologist shall advise the Board in writing of any change in name or mailing address within 60 days.2) The Board may impose a fine of $100 for failure to notify the Board of a change in name or mailing address.
10.32.06.07.htm 10.32.06.07. 07 Renewal and Reinstatement.. A. Renewal.. 1) The Board may not renew a license until the Comptroller of Maryland has verified that the individual has paid all undisputed taxes and unemployment insurance contributions, or arranged for repayment, as required by COMAR 10.31.02.2) An individual who has been licensed by the Board as a polysomnographic technologist may renew the license on or before the date specified by the Board by:
10.32.06.08.htm 10.32.06.08. 08 Continuing Education.. A. Application.. 1) A licensed polysomnographic technologist is not required to obtain continuing education hours for the first renewal after initial licensure or reinstatement.2) Except as stated in §A(1) of this regulation, the Board may not renew or reinstate the license of a polysomnographic technologist unless the polysomnographic technologist has met the requirements for continuing education described in §B of this regulation.B. Requirements..
10.32.06.09.htm 10.32.06.09. 09 Fees.. The following fees are applicable to polysomnographic technologists:. A. Initial license fees:. 1) Initial licensure application fee ― $200; and. 2) Maryland Health Care Commission (MHCC) fee ― As determined by MHCC under COMAR 10.25.03;. B. License renewal fees:. 1) License renewal fee ― $150; and. C. Reinstatement fees:. 1) Reinstatement fee ― $200; and. D. Written verification of licensure fee ― $25;. E. Replacement of registration card ― $25; and.
10.32.06.10.htm 10.32.06.10. 10 Prohibited Conduct.. A. Subject to the hearing provisions of Health Occupations Article, §14-405, Annotated Code of Maryland, the Board may deny a license to any applicant, reprimand any licensee, place any licensee on probation, or suspend or revoke a license if the applicant or licensee:1) Fraudulently, or deceptively obtains or attempts to obtain a license for the applicant or licensee, or for another;2) Fraudulently or deceptively uses a license;.
10.32.06.11.htm 10.32.06.11. 11 Required Reports.. A. Except as provided in §B, C, or F of this regulation, hospitals, related institutions, alternative health systems as defined in Health Occupations Article, §1-401, Annotated Code of Maryland, and employers shall file with the Board a report that the hospital, related institution, alternative health system, or employer limited, reduced, otherwise changed, or terminated any licensed polysomnographic technologist for any reason that might be grou
10.32.06.12.htm 10.32.06.12. 12 Penalties.. A. An individual who violates any provision of Heath Occupations Article, Title 14, Subtitle 5C, Annotated Code of Maryland, is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to a fine not exceeding $1,000 or imprisonment not exceeding 1 year, or both.B. An individual who violates any provision of Health Occupations Article, Title 14, Subtitle 5C, Annotated Code of Maryland, or any regulation in this chapter, is subject to a civil fine of not more
10.32.06.13.htm 10.32.06.13. 13 Sanctioning Guidelines for Polysomnographic Technologists.. A. Subject to provisions of Regulation .12F and G of this chapter, the Board may impose sanctions as outlined in §B of this regulation on polysomnographic technologists for violations of Health Occupations Article, §14-5C-17(a) Annotated Code of Maryland.B. Range of Sanctions.. Ground. Maximum Sanction. Minimum Sanction. Maximum Fine. Minimum Fine. 1) Fraudulently or deceptively obtains or attempts
10.32.06.9999.htm 10.32.06.9999. Administrative History Effective date: December 1, 2008 (35:24 Md. R. 2078). Regulation .01B amended as an emergency provision effective October 1, 2009 (36:17 Md. R. 1311) amended permanently effective October 5, 2009 (36:20 Md. R. 1528)Regulation .01B amended effective March 5, 2012 (39:4 Md. R. 337). Regulation .01E, F adopted effective May 11, 2015 (42:9 Md. R. 647). Regulation .02B amended effective August 15, 2016 (43:16 Md. R. 900).
<< Back | Return to Main COMAR Search Page