Skip to Main Content
<< Back | Return to Main COMAR Search Page

19 records match your request.

FileAbstract
10.32.01.00.htm 10.32.01.00. Title 10 MARYLAND DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH Subtitle 32 BOARD OF PHYSICIANS Chapter 01 General Licensure Regulations Authority: Health Occupations Article, §1-213, 14-101, 14-205―14-207, 14-301, 14-304―14-307, 14-310, 14-311, 14-313, 14-314, 14-316―14-318, 14-320, 14-503, 14-505, and 14-606, Annotated Code of Maryland
10.32.01.01.htm 10.32.01.01. 01 Scope.. These regulations govern how an individual becomes licensed in Maryland to practice medicine..
10.32.01.02.htm 10.32.01.02. 02 Definitions.. A. In this chapter, the following terms have the meanings indicated.. B. Terms Defined.. 1) “ABMS” means the American Board of Medical Specialties.. 2) "ACCME" means the Accreditation Council on Continuing Medical Education.. 3) "ACGME" means the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education.. 4) "Accredited training program" means a postgraduate clinical medical education program which is:. a) Certified by the:.
10.32.01.03.htm 10.32.01.03. 03 Licensure ― Qualifications for Initial Licensure.. A. Moral Character. The applicant shall be of good moral character.. B. Age. The applicant shall be 18 years old or older.. C. Fee. An applicant for initial licensure shall pay the initial application fee and any additional charges set by the Board.D. Education and Training. The applicant shall meet at least one of the following requirements:. 1) Have a doctor of medicine degree from a school of medicine accredited by
10.32.01.04.htm 10.32.01.04. 04 Licensure ― Documentation for Initial Licensure.. A. The applicant shall submit an application on a form supplied by the Board.. B. Complete Application.. 1) A complete application for initial licensure shall include, but is not limited to, proof of the following through documentation on forms supplied by the Board:a) Verification of medical education;. b) Written and electronic statements from an authorized official of each of the applicant's accredited training programs which:
10.32.01.05.htm 10.32.01.05. 05 Inactive Licensure.. A. A licensee in good standing who wishes to maintain the licensee’s medical license but who does not wish to practice medicine in this State may apply for inactive status.B. A licensee applying for an inactive license shall pay the inactive license fee and any additional charges set by the Board.C. A licensee may apply for inactive status if the licensee has an unrestricted active license to practice medicine in this State and may also apply w
10.32.01.06.htm 10.32.01.06. 06 Qualifications for Limited License for Postgraduate Teaching.. A. Moral Character. The applicant for a limited license for postgraduate teaching shall be of good moral character.B. Age. The applicant for a limited license for postgraduate teaching shall be 18 years old or older.C. Education, Training, and Experience.. 1) To meet the education and training requirements, a qualified applicant for a limited license for postgraduate teaching shall have:a) Graduated from an LCME
10.32.01.07.htm 10.32.01.07. 07 Setting of Fees.. All fees, not set by statute, will be set by the Board. A copy of the current fee schedule is set forth in Regulation .12 of this chapter. Fees paid to the Board are nonrefundable.
10.32.01.08.htm 10.32.01.08. 08 Renewals.. A. The Board may not renew a license until the Comptroller of Maryland has verified that the individual has paid all undisputed taxes and unemployment insurance contributions, or arranged for repayment, as required by COMAR 10.31.02.B. A licensee shall renew the license every 2 years.. C. At least 1 month before the license expires, the Board shall send to the last known address of record of the licensee, by electronic or first-class1) A renewal notice that states:.
10.32.01.09.htm 10.32.01.09. 09 Expired Licensure.. A. A licensee with an expired license may not:. 1) Practice medicine within Maryland;. 2) Prescribe medicine within Maryland; or. 3) Conduct peer review of physicians within Maryland.. B. A physician whose license is expired and who wishes to practice medicine in Maryland shall apply for reinstatement on a form supplied by the Board and meet the requirements for reinstatement in Regulation .11 of this chapter, including the continuing medical education req
10.32.01.10.htm 10.32.01.10. 10 Continuing Medical Education.. A. Definitions.. 1) In this regulation, the following terms have the meanings indicated.. 2) Terms Defined.. a) “2-year period” means:. i) For license renewal, the 2 years preceding the expiration of the physician license; or. ii) For license reinstatement, the 2 years preceding the date of the submission of the application for reinstatement of the physician license.b) “Applicant” means:.
10.32.01.11.htm 10.32.01.11. 11 Reinstatement of Expired or Inactive Licenses.. A. A physician whose license has been placed on inactive status or who has failed to renew a license by the license expiration date and who wishes to practice medicine in Maryland shall apply for reinstatement on a form supplied by the Board.B. A physician applying for reinstatement shall pay a reinstatement fee and any additional charges set by the Board.C. A physician applying for reinstatement shall submit documentation of com
10.32.01.12.htm 10.32.01.12. 12 Fees.. The fees are as follows:. A. Examination fee for the United States Medical Licensing Examination, Step 3 . $555;. B. Application fees.. 1) Original physician or osteopath licensure application, American school graduate . $260;. 2) Original physician or osteopath licensure application, foreign school graduate . $260;. 3) Foreign credentials evaluation . $100;. 4) Conceded eminence credentials evaluation . $300;.
10.32.01.13.htm 10.32.01.13. 13 Advertising.. A. A physician may place advertisements.. B. An advertisement may not contain:. 1) Statements containing misrepresentation of facts;. 2) Statements that cannot be verified by the Board for truthfulness;. 3) Statements likely to mislead or deceive because in context the statements make only a partial disclosure of relevant facts;4) Statements intended to, or likely to, create false or unjustified expectations of favorable results;5) Statements specifying
10.32.01.14.htm 10.32.01.14. 14 Solicitation.. A. A physician may not engage in solicitation, including in-person, telephone, or direct mail solicitation which:1) Amounts to fraud, undue influence, intimidation, or overreaching;. 2) Contains statements which would be improper under Regulation .13B of this chapter.. B. A physician shall also be accountable under this regulation if he uses an agent, partnership, professional association, or health maintenance organization to implement acti
10.32.01.15.htm 10.32.01.15. 15 Name under which Licensee May Practice.. A. A physician shall be licensed to practice only under the name on the license.. B. A licensee wishing to change the name under which the licensee practices shall obtain the Board's approval under Regulation .15B and C of this chapter.C. The failure of a licensee to practice under the name on the license shall be considered unprofessional conduct by the Board and grounds for disciplinary action.
10.32.01.16.htm 10.32.01.16. 16 Replacement Licenses.. A. The Board shall issue a replacement license or registration card if the original license is lost, destroyed, stolen, or damaged, or if there has been a change of the licensee's name.B. The Board shall require that the following accompany requests for replacement licenses:. 1) The proper fee;. 2) Any required application forms which are to include the reason for the replacement license request;3) A passport quality photograph of the licensee,
10.32.01.17.htm 10.32.01.17. 17 Initial Licensure by Reciprocity.. A. Requirements. An applicant for initial licensure by reciprocity shall:. 1) Have an active, unrestricted license to practice medicine in another jurisdiction that:. a) At the time the applicant was licensed, had licensure requirements substantially equivalent to the Board’s current licensure requirements as set forth in Regulation .03 of this chapter; andb) Offers a similar reciprocal licensure process to physicians licensed by the Board;.
10.32.01.9999.htm 10.32.01.9999. Administrative History Effective date: May 7, 1971. Amended effective November 9, 1971; March 31, 1976 (3:7 Md. R. 401). Chapter revised effective March 16, 1977 (4:6 Md. R. 507). Regulation .02 amended effective July 25, 1980 (7:15 Md. R. 1425). Regulation .05B amended effective February 20, 1981 (8:4 Md. R. 342). Regulation .08C amended effective May 5, 1978 (5:9 Md. R. 684). Regulation .08D adopted effective February 20, 1981 (8:4 Md. R. 342).
<< Back | Return to Main COMAR Search Page