Skip to Main Content
<< Back | Return to Main COMAR Search Page

13 records match your request.

FileAbstract
10.29.21.00.htm 10.29.21.00. Title 10 DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND MENTAL HYGIENE Subtitle 29 BOARD OF MORTICIANS AND FUNERAL DIRECTORS Chapter 21 Mortuary Transport Services Authority: Health-Occupations Article, §7-101 and 7-601―7-607, Annotated Code of Maryland
10.29.21.01.htm 10.29.21.01. 01 Scope.. This chapter applies to:. A. Applicants for a mortuary transport service permit;. B. Applicants for registration as a transporter for a mortuary transport service;. C. Permitted mortuary transport services; and. D. Registered transporters..
10.29.21.02.htm 10.29.21.02. 02 Definitions.. A. In this chapter, the following terms have the meanings indicated.. B. Terms Defined.. 1) “Board” means the State Board of Morticians and Funeral Directors.. 2) “CJIS” means the Criminal Justice Information System.. 3) “Cleaning” means to disinfect the entire interior of the mortuary transport service vehicle, including the drivers’ cabin.4) “Crematory” means a building, portion of a building, or structure that houses the necessary appliances and facilities for
10.29.21.03.htm 10.29.21.03. 03 Requirements for a Permit.. A. To qualify for a permit to operate a mortuary transport service, an individual shall:. 1) Be at least 18 years of age;. 2) Be of good moral character; and. 3) Satisfy the requirements of Health Occupations Article, §7-602(c) Annotated Code of Maryland.. B. To apply for a permit, an individual shall submit to the Board:. 1) An application signed by an individual who is the owner or co-owner of the mortuary transport service to be permitted on a
10.29.21.04.htm 10.29.21.04. 04 Requirements for Registration.. A. To qualify as a registered transporter, an individual shall:. 1) Be at least 18 years of age;. 2) Be of good moral character;. 3) Hold a current valid driver’s license in good standing; and. 4) Be employed by a mortuary transport service that holds a permit issued by the Board.. B. Required Coursework. Before registering as a registered transporter, an individual shall complete the following Board approved coursework options:
10.29.21.05.htm 10.29.21.05. 05 Procedures.. A. Before using a body bag for removal of human remains, the registered transporter shall inspect the body bag to ensure that the body bag is fully closeable and that there are no holes, rips, or tears in the body bag.B. Potentially Infectious Body Fluids.. 1) All bodily fluids shall be considered as potentially infectious and dealt with appropriately.. 2) Proper personal protective equipment shall be available for use at all times.. 3) Contaminated surfaces
10.29.21.06.htm 10.29.21.06. 06 Prohibited Acts.. A. A permit holder or transporter shall:. 1) At all times treat the human remains being transported with the utmost dignity; and. 2) Comply with the requirements of Health-General Article, §5-513, Annotated Code of Maryland, except with regard to inspection of an out-of-State facility.B. A permit holder may not:. 1) Violate any federal, State, or local law or regulation or order a transporter to violate any federal, State, or local law or regulation;
10.29.21.07.htm 10.29.21.07. 07 Vehicle Standards.. A. A removal vehicle shall:. 1) Be of appropriate size for the transport of human remains;. 2) Have windows tinted to the extent that human remains are obscured from public view;. 3) Have a cargo bay which:. a) Is fully enclosed; and. b) Is designed to prevent co-mingling or shifting of human remains while in transit; and. 4) Have a floor which is a nonporous, impervious surface.. B. A removal vehicle shall include at least the following equipment:.
10.29.21.08.htm 10.29.21.08. 08 Fees.. The following fees related to mortuary transport services are established by the Board:. A. Mortuary Transport Service Permit:. 1) Initial fee:. a) Category 1 (for 1―3 transporters, including the permit holder) ― $350;. b) Category 2 (for 4―7 transporters, including the permit holder) ― $500;. c) Category 3 (for 8―15 transporters, including the permit holder) ― $750; and. d) Category 4 (for more than 15 transporters, including the permit holder) ― $1,000; and.
10.29.21.09.htm 10.29.21.09. 09 Renewal Requirements.. A. A mortuary transport service’s permit expires 30 days after the effective date of this chapter.. B. After being issued an initial permit, a mortuary transport service’s permit:. 1) Expires on the date set by the Board, unless it is renewed for an additional term; and. 2) May not be renewed for a term longer than 2 years.. C. At least 2 months before the permit expires, the Board shall issue a renewal notice to the permit holder that states:
10.29.21.10.htm 10.29.21.10. 10 Reinstatement Requirements.. A. To reinstate an expired permit, an individual shall:. 1) Resubmit the application required by the Board for initial applicants;. 2) Satisfy the education requirements stated in Regulation .04B of this chapter; and. 3) Pay to the Board the reinstatement fee established by the Board in Regulation .08 of this chapter.B. An individual whose registration has lapsed shall reapply to the Board under the procedure set forth in Regulation .04 of
10.29.21.11.htm 10.29.21.11. 11 Multi-State Establishments.. All vehicles registered by an establishment which is part of the same business structure as a licensed Maryland funeral establishment shall be inspected by the Board at a convenient location within the State if the related establishment intends to transport Maryland decedents in their vehicles.
10.29.21.9999.htm 10.29.21.9999. Administrative History Effective date: February 17, 2014 (41:3 Md. R. 202).
<< Back | Return to Main COMAR Search Page