Skip to Main Content
<< Back | Return to Main COMAR Search Page

8 records match your request.

FileAbstract
10.29.02.00.htm 10.29.02.00. Title 10 DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND MENTAL HYGIENE Subtitle 29 BOARD OF MORTICIANS AND FUNERAL DIRECTORS Chapter 02 Examination Authority: Health Occupations Article, ยง7-304, Annotated Code of Maryland
10.29.02.01.htm 10.29.02.01. 01 Definitions.. A. The following terms have the meanings indicated.. B. Terms Defined.. 1) "Applicant" means any individual who qualifies to take the Maryland mortician or funeral director examination.2) "Board" means the State Board of Morticians and Funeral Directors.. 3) "Maryland mortician and funeral director examination" means the legal and practical examination that is given by the Board to test the competency of individuals applying for a Maryland mortician or
10.29.02.02.htm 10.29.02.02. 02 Scope of Examination.. The Board will give a two-part examination which consists of a:. A. Legal part, testing the applicant's knowledge of Maryland law and regulations governing mortuary science, including subject areas disclosed to applicants as part of a notification of the upcoming examination sent to all licensed apprentices and other applicants; andB. One of the following:. 1) Practical part for morticians, testing competency in embalming and otherwise preserving a dead hu
10.29.02.03.htm 10.29.02.03. 03 Requirements for Examination.. An applicant shall:. A. Hold an apprentice license or have completed the apprenticeship requirements;. B. Submit an application for examination on the required form; and. C. Pay to the Board a $100 fee..
10.29.02.04.htm 10.29.02.04. 04 Passing Score.. A. A minimum passing grade of 75 percent is required on the:. 1) Law examination;. 2) Practical examination.. B. An applicant who fails either part of the examination may retake that part of the examination one time during the next examination period without paying an additional $100 fee.C. An applicant who fails both parts of the examination may retake the entire examination one time during the next examination period without paying an additional $100 fee.
10.29.02.05.htm 10.29.02.05. 05 Frequency of Examination.. The Board shall hold an examination twice a year, in April and October..
10.29.02.06.htm 10.29.02.06. 06 National Examination.. A. Before granting a Maryland mortician or funeral director license, the Board shall require an applicant to take and pass the national examination administered by the Conference of Funeral Service Examining Boards of the United States. The national examination may be taken either before or after the applicant takes the Maryland examination. An applicant may retake the national examination as often as is necessary to fulfill this requirement.
10.29.02.9999.htm 10.29.02.9999. Administrative History Effective date: May 4, 1987 (14:9 Md. R. 1080). Regulation .01B amended as an emergency provision effective November 5, 2007 (34:24 Md. R. 2154) amended permanently effective February 25, 2008 (35:4 Md. R. 514)Regulation .02B amended as an emergency provision effective November 5, 2007 (34:24 Md. R. 2154) amended permanently effective February 25, 2008 (35:4 Md. R. 514)Regulation .06A amended as an emergency provision effective November 5, 200
<< Back | Return to Main COMAR Search Page