Skip to Main Content
<< Back | Return to Main COMAR Search Page

20 records match your request.

FileAbstract
10.27.01.00.htm 10.27.01.00. Title 10 MARYLAND DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH Subtitle 27 BOARD OF NURSING Chapter 01 Examination and Licensure Authority: Health Occupations Article, §1-213, 8-201, 8-205, 8-206, 8-301―8-315, 8-703, and 8-6A-05(a) Tax-General Article, §10-738 and 10-739(b)1) Annotated Code of Maryland; Ch. 486, Acts of 2012; Chs. 281 and 282, Acts of 2013, Chs. 385 and 386, Acts of 2016, and Chs. 234 and 234, Acts of 2017
10.27.01.01.htm 10.27.01.01. 01 Definitions.. A. In this chapter, the following terms have the meanings indicated.. B. Terms Defined.. 1) "Active nursing practice" as used in Health Occupations Article, §8-312, Annotated Code of Maryland, means:a) The practice of registered nursing or licensed practical nursing as defined in Health Occupations Article, §8-101, Annotated Code of Maryland;b) Related nursing activities approved by the Board, including but not limited to a generic nursing education program, degree
10.27.01.02.htm 10.27.01.02. 02 Fees.. A. The fees listed in this regulation are not refundable.. B. Licensure by examination fees are as follows:. 1) Registered nurse licensure ― $100;. 2) Licensed practical nurse licensure ― $100; and. 3) An examination fee for registered nurse and licensed practical nurse licensure shall be paid by the candidate directly to the testing service.C. Licensure by endorsement fees are as follows:. 1) Registered nurse licensure ― $100; and.
10.27.01.03.htm 10.27.01.03. 03 Licensure Exceptions.. A. Registered nurses or licensed practical nurses who hold a current active license in any other state or jurisdiction may render nursing care:1) For not more than 30 days, to an individual who is visiting the State for medical, educational, or personal reasons;2) For the purpose of the interstate transport and care of patients traveling to and from Maryland; and3) During an emergency situation.. B. A registered nurse or licensed practical nurse
10.27.01.04.htm 10.27.01.04. 04 General Provisions for Applications.. A. An applicant shall submit:. 1) A completed application to the Board on the form that the Board requires;. 2) To a criminal history records check (CHRC) in accordance with Health Occupations Article, §8–303, Annotated Code of Maryland;3) Written evidence satisfactory to the Board that the applicant has submitted to a CHRC as required by §A(2) of this regulation by submitting:
10.27.01.05.htm 10.27.01.05. 05 Qualifications of Applicants for Examination.. A. An applicant for the registered nurse licensure examination shall:. 1) Complete satisfactorily and meet all requirements for a diploma or degree from a registered nursing education program approved by the Board; or2) Have a diploma or degree from a registered nursing education program in another state, territory, or country determined by the Board to be substantially equivalent to the registered nursing educati
10.27.01.06.htm 10.27.01.06. 06 Application for Licensure by Examination.. A. An applicant shall:. 1) Comply with all of the requirements in Regulation .04A of this chapter;. 2) File and submit a completed application to the National Council of State Boards of Nursing on the form required; and3) Pay any required fees.. B. Each application shall be signed by the nurse administrator of the school or program or an officer of the school to whom this responsibility has been designated.C. Applications may be si
10.27.01.07.htm 10.27.01.07. 07 Examination Procedures.. A. Examinations shall be held at least once per year.. B. The Board will participate with the National Council of State Boards of Nursing, Inc. in preparing and administering the National Council Licensure Examination for registered nurse and practical nurse licensure.C. The results of the NCLEX shall be reported as pass or fail.. D. An authorization to test card shall be sent to each candidate that the Board determines to be eligible for the examination.
10.27.01.08.htm 10.27.01.08. 08 Applicants Requiring Special Accommodation.. A. An applicant with a disability may request modifications in examination materials or procedures. The applicant shall:1) Make the request for modifications in writing;. 2) Include in the request the following:. a) The candidate's name;. b) The date of the examination to be modified;. c) A letter from the appropriate medical professional which:. i) Confirms the disability; and.
10.27.01.09.htm 10.27.01.09. 09 Speech-Impaired Applicants.. A. An applicant who claims a speech impairment shall fulfill all requirements for application, and shall submit to the Board documentation of the applicant's impairment, from:1) An otolaryngologist who has current certification from the American Board of Otolaryngology; and. 2) A speech-language pathologist who has current certification from the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association.B. The Board shall require a speech-impaired appli
10.27.01.10.htm 10.27.01.10. 10 Licensure by Endorsement.. A. An applicant licensed to practice registered nursing or practical nursing in another state, territory, or country is eligible for licensure without examination if the applicant:1) Complies with all of the requirements under Regulation .04A of this chapter;. 2) Pays the required fee;. 3) Submits the following verifications directly to the Board from the appropriate authority:. a) That at the time that applicant graduated from the nursing education pro
10.27.01.11.htm 10.27.01.11. 11 Issuance of Licenses.. A. An initial license shall be issued to each applicant passing the licensure examination or qualifying for licensure by endorsement provided that:1) The applicant meets all the requirements of this chapter; and. 2) The Board has:. a) Received and reviewed the criminal history record information; and. b) Approved the application.. B. An initial license may not be issued for less than 90 days.. C. An incorrect license issued as a result of a Bo
10.27.01.12.htm 10.27.01.12. 12 Temporary Licensure.. A. The Board may issue a temporary license to an applicant who passed the licensure examination and is waiting for the criminal history records check to be completed or who is licensed as a registered nurse or licensed practical nurse in any other state provided that the applicant:1) Completes the required application;. 2) If licensed in another state, presents a copy of a current, active license in another state;.
10.27.01.13.htm 10.27.01.13. 13 Renewal of License.. A. The Board shall renew the license of a licensee who meets all the requirements of Health Occupations Article, §8-312, Annotated Code of Maryland and of this chapter.B. The Board shall renew licenses biennially according to the following schedule:. 1) A registered nurse or licensed practical nurse with an odd-numbered birth year shall always renew in an odd-numbered year not later than the 28th day of the licensee’s birth month; and2) A registered nurse or
10.27.01.14.htm 10.27.01.14. 14 Inactive Status.. A. The Board shall place the license of any registered nurse or licensed practical nurse on inactive status if the licensee:1) Has not satisfactorily completed 1,000 hours of active nursing practice or graduated from an approved nursing program within the 5-year period immediately preceding the date of anticipated renewal or chooses inactive status;2) Completes the biennial application for inactive status; and. 3) Pays all fees.. B. A licensee on inactive
10.27.01.15.htm 10.27.01.15. 15 Expiration of License.. A. A license expires on the 28th day of the licensee's birth month.. B. A licensee has a 30-day grace period beyond the expiration date of a license to renew a license..
10.27.01.16.htm 10.27.01.16. 16 Refresher Course and Preceptorship Requirements.. A. Refresher courses and preceptor programs, as defined in Regulation .01B of this chapter, shall be approved by the Board before their implementation and at least every 5 years after that.B. The registered nurse curriculum shall:. 1) Have a minimum of 80 theory hours, 60 clinical hours, and 8 hours of a classroom laboratory training before the on-site clinical experience;2) Include the following content areas:.
10.27.01.17.htm 10.27.01.17. 17 Reinstatement.. A. The Board shall reinstate the license of a former licensee who has failed to renew the license for any reason if the former licensee meets the renewal requirements.B. After January 1, 2010, an applicant for reinstatement who has failed to renew the applicant's license for a period of 1 year or more shall submit to a criminal history records check before the license is reinstated.
10.27.01.18.htm 10.27.01.18. 18 Violation of Regulations.. A. If a program is thought to be in violation of this chapter, the following steps shall be taken:. 1) The Board shall notify the program of the regulations it is violating;. 2) The program shall submit a plan with a proposed time frame for correcting the violations;. 3) The plan shall be due within 30 days of receipt of notification of the violations;. 4) The Board's professional staff may, at the request of the Board, visit the program;.
10.27.01.9999.htm 10.27.01.9999. Administrative History Effective date:. Regulation .01B, C amended effective May 5, 1978 (5:9 Md. R. 684). Regulation .02A amended effective January 7, 1976 (3:1 Md. R. 40). Regulation .02B, F amended effective October 13, 1976 (13:21 Md. R. 1206). Regulation .02G amended effective May 14, 1975 (2:10 Md. R. 752). Regulation .05 amended effective January 7, 1976 (3:1 Md. R. 40). Regulation .08 repealed effective March 23, 1979 (6:6 Md. R. 512) ―.
<< Back | Return to Main COMAR Search Page