Skip to Main Content
<< Back | Return to Main COMAR Search Page

18 records match your request.

FileAbstract
09.22.01.00.htm 09.22.01.00. Title 09 MARYLAND DEPARTMENT OF LABOR Subtitle 22 BOARD OF COSMETOLOGISTS Chapter 01 General Regulations Authority: Business Occupations and Professions Article, Titles 4 and 5; Business Regulation Article, §2-106.13 and 2-106.14; Annotated Code of Maryland; Ch. 256, Acts of 2017
09.22.01.01.htm 09.22.01.01. 01 General Requirements.. A. A licensee, permit holder, or registrant shall be familiar with and comply with the laws and regulations governing the practice of beauty culture.B. Every licensee and registrant shall:. 1) Display a current and valid license in full view of the public at the practitioner's work station;2) Affix a current picture to the license; and. 3) Have available at all times valid government-issued photographic identification.. C. When a senior cosmetol
09.22.01.02.htm 09.22.01.02. 02 Senior Cosmetologist License.. A. A senior cosmetologist is responsible for the theory and practical training of apprentices and limited practice apprentices in the cosmetologist's salon.B. A senior cosmetologist license authorizes the licensee to practice all aspects of beauty culture..
09.22.01.03.htm 09.22.01.03. 03 Cosmetologist License.. A cosmetologist license authorizes the licensee to practice all aspects of beauty culture..
09.22.01.04.htm 09.22.01.04. 04 Esthetician License.. A. An esthetician license authorizes the licensee to engage in providing esthetic services as defined in Business Occupations and Professions Article, §5-101(l) Annotated Code of Maryland.B. The term "massaging" as used in Business Occupation and Professions Article, §5-101(l) Annotated Code of Maryland, means contact with the skin limited to the beautification, cleansing, and embellishment of the skin during the application and remov
09.22.01.05.htm 09.22.01.05. 05 Nail Technician License.. A nail technician license authorizes the licensee to engage in the practice of:. A. Massaging the hands and feet;. B. Applying cosmetic preparations, nail enamels, antiseptics, lotions, creams, nail gel, nail wrappings, acrylics, and artificial nails; andC. Cutting, shaping, and similar work upon the nails..
09.22.01.06.htm 09.22.01.06. 06 Cosmetologist Apprentice Registration.. A. A cosmetologist apprentice registration authorizes the apprentice to learn all aspects of cosmetology under the direct supervision of a senior cosmetologist.B. One senior cosmetologist shall directly train one cosmetologist apprentice.. C. Before becoming eligible to take the cosmetologist examination, a cosmetologist apprentice shall:. 1) Train at least 20 hours per week;. 2) Train for not less than 24, nor more than 36, months; and.
09.22.01.07.htm 09.22.01.07. 07 Esthetician Apprentice Registration.. A. An esthetician apprentice registration authorizes the esthetician apprentice to learn all aspects of providing esthetic services as defined in Business Occupations and Professions Article, §5-101(l) Annotated Code of Maryland.B. The term "massaging" as used in Business Occupation and Professions Article, §5-101(l) Annotated Code of Maryland, means contact with the skin limited to the beautification, cleansing, and embellis
09.22.01.08.htm 09.22.01.08. 08 Nail Technician Apprentice Registration.. A. A nail technician apprentice registration authorizes the nail technician apprentice to learn all aspects of manicuring and pedicuring.B. One senior cosmetologist or one licensed nail technician with 2 years experience shall directly train one apprentice.C. Before becoming eligible to take the nail technician examination, a nail technician apprentice shall:1) Train at least 20 hours per week;.
09.22.01.09.htm 09.22.01.09. 09 Supervision of an Apprentice.. A. Prior to supervising an apprentice for the first time, a licensee shall participate in an orientation program administered by the Board.B. A licensee who supervises an apprentice shall:. 1) Ensure that the apprentice receives:. a) At least 20 hours of training per week; and. b) The required theory and practical training;. 2) File a monthly report, on a form supplied by the Board, stating the progress of each apprentice in the salon and identifyi
09.22.01.10.htm 09.22.01.10. 10 Apprenticeship Registration Requirements.. A person may be registered as an apprentice if the person:. A. Is at least 16 years old;. B. Has secured a sponsoring salon in which to apprentice;. C. Has been approved by the Board; and. D. Prior to being registered as an apprentice, has participated in an orientation program administered by the Board.
09.22.01.11.htm 09.22.01.11. 11 Examinations.. A. The Board shall schedule examinations as often as necessary to meet the demand.. B. Each qualified applicant for examination shall be sent a notice of the examination that contains the:1) Time, date, and location of the examination;. 2) Amount of time allotted for the examination;. 3) Areas that will be tested during the theoretical and practical portions of the examination;. 4) Requirements for models;. 5) Equipment the applicant shall bring;.
09.22.01.12.htm 09.22.01.12. 12 Fees.. A. Purpose. This regulation is intended to carry out the provisions of Business Occupations and Professions Article, Titles 4 and 5, and Business Regulation Article, §2-106.13 and 2-106.14, Annotated Code of Maryland. In particular, it is intended to set various fees in order to cover the actual documented direct and indirect costs of fulfilling the statutory and regulatory duties of the State Board of Barbers and State Board of Cosmetologists.B. Definitions..
09.22.01.13.htm 09.22.01.13. 13 Renewals.. A. A renewal application for each license, permit, or registration shall be mailed to each licensee, permit holder, or cosmetologist apprentice at the last known address.B. A licensee, permit holder, or cosmetologist apprentice shall submit each application and the required payment at least 14 days before the expiration date of the existing license.C. An application that is incomplete or is not accompanied by the appropriate fee shall be returned to the applicant.
09.22.01.14.htm 09.22.01.14. 14 Compensation ― Examiners and Inspectors.. A. Examiners, appointed by the Board, shall be paid a per diem of at least $50 based on the State's budget.B. Inspectors, appointed by the Board, shall be paid a per diem of at least $50 based on the State's budget.C. All per diem employees are entitled to be reimbursed for traveling expenses in accordance with the State's policy.
09.22.01.15.htm 09.22.01.15. 15 Citations to Licensees.. Unless otherwise indicated, the following civil penalties are applicable to the following violations of the laws and regulations of the Board of Cosmetologists discovered by a Board inspector during an inspection of a beauty salon:A. Working in a beauty salon for which a permit never has been issued or other unauthorized location ― $300;B. Licensing:. 1) Operating without a valid license ― $300;. 2) No photo on license ― $100;.
09.22.01.16.htm 09.22.01.16. 16 Failure to Respond.. A. An applicant or licensee shall respond in writing to a written communication from the Board within 30 days of the date of mailing.B. The Board shall send a written communication by first-class mail to the last address furnished to the Board by an applicant or licensee.C. It is a responsibility of an applicant or licensee to notify the Board in writing if there has been a change in the applicant’s or licensee’s address.D. Failure to respond as
09.22.01.9999.htm 09.22.01.9999. Administrative History Effective date: April 4, 1973. Regulation .01 amended effective November 14, 1980 (7:23 Md. R. 2166) repealed effective November 16, 1987 (14:23 Md. R. 2414)Regulation .01 adopted as an emergency provision effective July 1, 1991 (18:18 Md. R. 2001) emergency status expired January 1, 1992Regulation .01 adopted as an emergency provision effective February 14, 1992 (19:5 Md. R. 573) emergency status extended at 19:11 Md. R. 1011Regulation .02A amended e
<< Back | Return to Main COMAR Search Page