Skip to Main Content
<< Back | Return to Main COMAR Search Page

14 records match your request.

FileAbstract
09.16.01.00.htm 09.16.01.00. Title 09 MARYLAND DEPARTMENT OF LABOR Subtitle 16 BOARD OF BARBERS Chapter 01 General Regulations Authority: Business Occupations and Professions Article, Titles 4 and 5; Business Regulations Article, §2-106.13 and 2-106.14; Annotated Code of Maryland; Ch. 256, Acts of 2017
09.16.01.01.htm 09.16.01.01. 01 General Requirements.. A. A licensee, permit holder, or registrant shall be familiar with and comply with the laws and regulations governing the practice of barbering.B. Every licensee, permit holder, and registrant shall display a current and valid license in full view of the public at the licensee's individual work station. The licensee or registrant shall affix a current picture to the license.C. A master barber or barber may not practice barbering in any place other
09.16.01.02.htm 09.16.01.02. 02 Master Barber License.. A. A master barber license authorizes the licensee to practice all aspects of barbering without supervision.B. A master barber may provide training to one apprentice..
09.16.01.03.htm 09.16.01.03. 03 Barber License.. A barber license authorizes the licensee to practice all aspects of barbering..
09.16.01.04.htm 09.16.01.04. 04 Barber Apprentice and Barber-Stylist Apprentice Registration.. A. A barber apprentice registration authorizes the apprentice to learn all aspects of barbering while in an authorized barber shop under the direct supervision of a master barber.B. A barber-stylist apprentice registration authorizes the apprentice to learn all aspects of barber styling while in an authorized barber shop under the direct supervision of a master barber.
09.16.01.05.htm 09.16.01.05. 05 Supervision of a Barber Apprentice or Barber-Stylist Apprentice.. A. Prior to supervising an apprentice for the first time, a master barber shall participate in an orientation program administered by the Board.B. A master barber licensee who supervises an apprentice shall:. 1) Ensure that the apprentice receives the required theory and practical training;. 2) Ensure that the apprentice receives at least 30 hours of training per week;. 3) File a monthly report,
09.16.01.06.htm 09.16.01.06. 06 Apprenticeship Registration Requirements.. A. A person may be registered as an apprentice if the person:. 1) Is at least 16 years old;. 2) Has secured a sponsoring shop in which to apprentice;. 3) Has been approved by the Board; and. 4) Prior to being registered as an apprentice, has participated in an orientation program administered by the Board.B. For good cause, the Board may issue a new barber apprentice registration to an individual previously registered as a barbe
09.16.01.07.htm 09.16.01.07. 07 Examinations.. A. The Board shall schedule examinations as often as necessary to meet the demand.. B. Each qualified applicant for examination shall be sent a notice of the examination that contains the:1) Time, date, and location of the examination;. 2) Amount of time allotted for the examination;. 3) Areas that will be tested during the theoretical and practical portions of the examination;. 4) Requirements for models;. 5) Equipment the applicant shall bring;.
09.16.01.08.htm 09.16.01.08. 08 Fees.. A. Purpose. This regulation is intended to carry out the provisions of Business Occupations and Professions Article, Titles 4 and 5, and Business Regulation Article, §2-106.13 and 2-106.14, Annotated Code of Maryland. In particular, it is intended to set various fees in order to cover the actual documented direct and indirect costs of fulfilling the statutory and regulatory duties of the State Board of Barbers and State Board of Cosmetologists.B. Definitions..
09.16.01.09.htm 09.16.01.09. 09 Renewals.. A. A renewal application for each license or registration shall be mailed to each licensee, permit holder, and registrant at the last known address.B. A licensee, permit holder, or registrant shall submit each application and the required payment at least 14 days before the expiration date of the existing license.C. An application that is incomplete or is not accompanied by the appropriate fee shall be returned to the applicant.
09.16.01.10.htm 09.16.01.10. 10 Compensation of Inspectors.. A. Inspectors, appointed by the Board, shall be paid a per diem of at least $50 based on the State's budget.B. All per diem employees are entitled to be reimbursed for traveling expenses in accordance with the State's policy.
09.16.01.11.htm 09.16.01.11. 11 Citations to Licensees.. Unless otherwise indicated, the following civil penalties are applicable to the following violations of the laws and regulations of the Board of Barbers discovered by a Board inspector during an inspection of a barbershop:A. Working in a barbershop for which a permit never has been issued or at another unauthorized location―300B. Licensing.. 1) Operating without a valid license―300. 2) No photo on license―100.
09.16.01.12.htm 09.16.01.12. 12 Failure to Respond.. A. An applicant or licensee shall respond in writing to a written communication from the Board within 30 days of the date of mailing.B. The Board shall send a written communication by first-class mail to the last address furnished to the Board by an applicant or licensee.C. It is a responsibility of an applicant or licensee to notify the Board in writing if there has been a change in applicant’s or licensee’s address.D. Failure to respond as
09.16.01.9999.htm 09.16.01.9999. Administrative History Effective date: April 9, 1973. Regulations .02C, D, .03B―D, .05B, C, .06H, .08, .09D, E, and .11D amended effective June 6, 1983 (10:11 Md. R. 974)Regulation .02E repealed effective June 6, 1983 (10:11 Md. R. 974). Regulation .02 repealed effective December 14, 1987 (14:25 Md. R. 2659). Regulation .03D amended effective April 6, 1987 (14:7 Md. R. 830). Regulations .04 and .11E, M―N repealed effective August 2, 1982 (9:15 Md. R. 1513).
<< Back | Return to Main COMAR Search Page