Skip to Main Content
<< Back | Return to Main COMAR Search Page

13 records match your request.

FileAbstract
09.14.02.00.htm 09.14.02.00. Title 09 MARYLAND DEPARTMENT OF LABOR Subtitle 14 STATE ATHLETIC COMMISSION Chapter 02 Applications and Licensing Authority: Business Regulation Article, §4-205, 4-301, and 4-303, Annotated Code of Maryland
09.14.02.01.htm 09.14.02.01. 01 License Required.. A. A person or organization required to be licensed by the Commission under Business Regulation Article, Title 4, Subtitle 3, Annotated Code of Maryland, shall file an application on forms approved by the Commission.B. Persons requiring a license include:. 1) Boxer;. 2) Manager;. 3) Matchmaker;. 4) Promoter;. 5) Second;. 6) Wrestler;. 7) Referee;. 8) Kickboxer;. 9) Judge; and. 10) Mixed martial arts contestant.. C. Requirements stated in
09.14.02.02.htm 09.14.02.02. 02 Contestants.. A. An applicant for a license as a contestant shall be:. 1) At least 18 years old;. 2) Not more than 36 years old unless special permission is granted by the Commission upon a review of the applicant's experience and physical fitness.B. An applicant shall submit medical reports required by COMAR 09.14.04.. C. An applicant shall have a licensed manager, licensed second, or qualified licensee certify to the Commission that the applicant is physically compe
09.14.02.03.htm 09.14.02.03. 03 Managers.. A. An applicant shall provide the Commission with a complete list of all Maryland contestants under the applicant's control.B. A licensed manager may act as second without obtaining a second's license.. C. A licensed manager is responsible for the conduct of the contestants under the manager's control..
09.14.02.03-1.htm 09.14.02.03-1. 03-1 Second.. An individual younger than 18 years old may not be licensed as a second..
09.14.02.04.htm 09.14.02.04. 04 Matchmaker.. A. An individual, partnership, corporation, or other organization arranging the match-up for a contest shall be licensed as a matchmaker.B. A licensed matchmaker may not:. 1) Be a licensed manager;. 2) Directly or indirectly manage a contestant; or. 3) Have a financial interest in a contestant who is participating in a contest that is part of the boxing, kickboxing, or mixed martial arts show in which the matchmaker is acting.
09.14.02.05.htm 09.14.02.05. 05 Promoters.. A. An applicant shall submit with an application a financial statement that has been notarized or certified by a certified public accountant and contains the following:1) Assets separately itemized;. 2) Liabilities separately itemized; and. 3) Other financial information that may be requested by the Commission.. B. In addition to the requirements of §A, of this regulation, a corporate applicant shall submit:. 1) A list of its articles of incorporation;.
09.14.02.06.htm 09.14.02.06. 06 Wrestlers.. A. An individual under 18 years old may not be licensed.. B. An applicant who does not have professional or amateur wrestling experience, upon request, shall demonstrate to the Commission or its authorized representative that the applicant is properly trained in the art of wrestling.
09.14.02.06-1.htm 09.14.02.06-1. 06-1 Referees.. A. Except as otherwise provided in this regulation, an applicant for an original license to act as a referee in a contest shall:1) Be at least 18 years old;. 2) Complete a course of training, approved by the Commission, which encompasses the elements of officiating in the sport in which the applicant seeks to officiate; and3) Achieve a score of at least 70 percent on an examination administered by the Commission.. B. The Commission may require an applicant for lic
09.14.02.06-2.htm 09.14.02.06-2. 06-2 Judges.. A. Except as otherwise provided in this regulation, an applicant for an original license to act as a judge in a boxing, kickboxing, or mixed martial arts contest shall:1) Be at least 18 years old;. 2) Complete a course of training, approved by the Commission, which encompasses the elements of officiating in the sport in which the applicant seeks to officiate; and3) Achieve a score of at least 70 percent on an examination administered by the Commission..
09.14.02.07.htm 09.14.02.07. 07 License Denial, Suspension, Fines, and Revocation.. A. The Commission may deny a license to any applicant or revoke a license if the applicant or licensee:1) Has been convicted of a felony or a crime involving moral turpitude;. 2) Has violated a regulation or order of the Commission;. 3) Has violated a directive of the Commission or its representatives;. 4) Has failed to demonstrate to the satisfaction of the Commission the physical competence to participate as a contestant;
09.14.02.08.htm 09.14.02.08. 08 Failure to Respond.. A. If an applicant or licensee receives from the Commission a written communication requesting a response, the applicant or licensee shall respond within 30 days of the date of the mailing.B. The Commission shall send a written communication by first-class mail to the last address furnished to the Commission by an applicant or licensee.C. It is a responsibility of an applicant or licensee to notify the Commission in writing if there has been a change in appli
09.14.02.9999.htm 09.14.02.9999. Administrative History Effective date: October 1, 1965. Subtitle revised effective August 26, 1985 (12:17 Md. R. 1705). Regulation .01 amended effective September 3, 1990 (17:17 Md. R. 2079) ―. Chapter revised effective June 10, 1991 (18:11 Md. R. 1186). Regulation .01B amended effective March 29, 1993 (20:6 Md. R. 580) July 6, 2009 (36:13 Md. R. 898). Regulation .02 amended July 6, 2009 (36:13 Md. R. 898). Regulation .02A amended effective March 29, 1993 (20:6 Md. R. 580).
<< Back | Return to Main COMAR Search Page