Skip to Main Content
<< Back | Return to Main COMAR Search Page

12 records match your request.

FileAbstract
09.11.06.00.htm 09.11.06.00. Title 09 MARYLAND DEPARTMENT OF LABOR Subtitle 11 REAL ESTATE COMMISSION Chapter 06 Continuing Education Authority: Business Occupations and Professions Article, §17-208 and 17-315, Annotated Code of Maryland
09.11.06.01.htm 09.11.06.01. 01 Definitions.. A. In this chapter, the following terms have the meanings indicated.. B. Terms Defined.. 1) "Approved continuing education course" means a continuing education course approved by the Commission.2) "Classroom instruction" means the art or science of teaching in a space:. a) Exclusively used for instructing during periods of instruction;. b) Which is conducive to learning; and. c) Where an assigned instructor is present..
09.11.06.02.htm 09.11.06.02. 02 Education Committee.. A. There is an Education Committee consisting of Commission members appointed by the Chairman. The Committee shall include at least two licensee members and one consumer member.B. A course provider who has been denied approval of a course by Commission staff may request the Committee to review that decision. The request for review shall be filed within 10 business days of receipt of the denial notice.
09.11.06.03.htm 09.11.06.03. 03 Course Providers.. A. In order to qualify as an educational institution under Business Occupations and Professions Article, §17-315(c)1) Annotated Code of Maryland, the institution shall provide the Commission with evidence of its approval by the Maryland Higher Education Commission as a career school eligible to provide the Real Estate Principles and Practices course at the currently mandated hours for prelicensing education.B. A completed application for approval as a cours
09.11.06.04.htm 09.11.06.04. 04 Course Approval.. A. The course provider shall submit an application for a class in a particular subject matter at least 30 days prior to the date of the first offering of the course.B. The Commission may request an outline of the course content as part of the approval process.. C. The Commission shall approve or deny the application within 20 days of the submission of the completed application.D. The Commission may approve a course for up to 2 years from the approval date..
09.11.06.05.htm 09.11.06.05. 05 Course Content.. A. The Commission may approve a continuing education course that meets all of the following five criteria:1) The course is a mandated or elective course designed for:. a) Protecting the general public in their real estate transactions;. b) Enabling the licensee to serve the objectives of the consumer in a real estate transaction; or. c) Enabling the licensee to develop competency and professionalism in a changing marketplace;.
09.11.06.06.htm 09.11.06.06. 06 Advertising.. A. Advertising related only to a specific course shall be in the name of the approved course provider. The name of a course sponsor may appear in the advertising, but may not be in a font size or format that exceeds that of the approved course provider. The role of the sponsor as to the course shall be included in the advertising.B. The course provider’s name as reflected in the application form, its telephone and electronic contact information, and its
09.11.06.07.htm 09.11.06.07. 07 Facilities.. Each classroom in which courses are given shall:. A. Meet all fire, safety, zoning, and Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) requirements;. B. Be of sufficient size to comfortably accommodate all enrolled students;. C. Provide an appropriate learning environment; and. D. Be free of distractions that would disrupt class sessions..
09.11.06.08.htm 09.11.06.08. 08 Conduct of Courses.. A. Scheduling.. 1) The maximum permissible class session without a break is 90 minutes.. 2) A course scheduled for more than 4 hours in one day shall include a meal break of at least 30 minutes, but not more than 90 minutes.3) A course shall begin promptly at the scheduled time.. B. Records.. 1) The course provider shall require each licensee to show a picture ID in order to be admitted to a class for which the licensee has enrolled.
09.11.06.09.htm 09.11.06.09. 09 Licensee Credit Hours.. A. Pre-approval. A course will qualify for continuing education credit only if the Commission has approved the form, substance, and subject matter of the course before the course is given.B. Prelicensing Courses. An instruction program for prelicensing examination preparation does not constitute qualifying credit hours for the continuing education requirement.C. Licenses Originating in Other Jurisdictions.. 1) Subject to §D(2) of th
09.11.06.10.htm 09.11.06.10. 10 Distance Learning.. A. The provider of a distance learning course shall obtain approval of the technical aspects of a course from an entity recognized by the Commission in the field of technical expertise before submitting the course to the Commission for review of its substance and subject matter.B. In a distance learning course, if the course provider and the student are separated by space and time:1) The provider’s technical staff:.
09.11.06.9999.htm 09.11.06.9999. Administrative History Effective date: July 5, 1993 (20:13 Md. R. 1046). Regulation .01B amended effective June 30, 1997 (24:13 Md. R. 930). Regulation .04 adopted effective June 30, 1997 (24:13 Md. R. 930) ―. Chapter revised effective April 26, 2004 (31:8 Md. R. 646) ―. Chapter revised effective April 18, 2011 (38:8 Md. R. 505). Regulation .01B amended effective June 1, 2017 (44:8 Md. R. 402). Regulation .03 amended effective June 1, 2017 (44:8 Md. R. 402).
<< Back | Return to Main COMAR Search Page