Skip to Main Content
<< Back | Return to Main COMAR Search Page

13 records match your request.

FileAbstract
08.04.03.00.htm 08.04.03.00. Title 08 DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES Subtitle 04 BOATING Chapter 03 Certificate of Boat Number Authority: Natural Resources Article, §8-704(c) 8-710.2, and 8-712, Annotated Code of Maryland
08.04.03.01.htm 08.04.03.01. 01 Vessel Numbering.. A. A person may not use a vessel unless:. 1) It has a number issued on a certificate of number by the Department or the issuing authority in the state where the vessel is principally used; or2) The vessel is exempt from numbering pursuant to 33 CFR §173.13 as amended.. B. Display.. 1) The number shall conform to the requirements of 33 CFR §174.23 as amended.. a) The first part shall consist of the letters "MD".
08.04.03.02.htm 08.04.03.02. 02 Possession of Certificate of Number.. A. Except as provided in 33 CFR §173.13 and 33 CFR §173.17 as amended, a person may not use a vessel unless it has on board:1) A valid certificate of number or temporary certificate for that vessel issued by the issuing authority in the state in which the vessel is principally used; or2) For the vessel described in §B of this regulation, a copy of the lease or rental agreement, signed by the owner or the owner's authorized represent
08.04.03.03.htm 08.04.03.03. 03 Exemptions.. The numbering requirements do not apply to the following vessels:. A. Exceptions noted in Natural Resources Article, §8-712(a)1) Annotated Code of Maryland;. B. A motor boat used solely for power boat racing which carries an official racing number issued by a recognized racing organization;C. Chesapeake Bay log sailing canoes which are registered with the Department, used exclusively for racing and which meet the specifications of the Chesapeake Bay Log Canoe As
08.04.03.04.htm 08.04.03.04. 04 Reciprocity.. A. A vessel numbered in another state and temporarily using Maryland waters is deemed in compliance with the numbering system requirements of Maryland.B. When a vessel is moved to Maryland as the new state of principal use, a number awarded by another state shall be recognized as valid for 60 days before numbering issued by the Department is required.
08.04.03.05.htm 08.04.03.05. 05 Certificate of Number.. A. A person required to secure a certificate of number under 33 CFR §173.15 as amended shall submit to the Department an application for certificate of number and the required fee.B. The Department shall collect the information required by 33 CFR §187 as amended.. C. Each certificate of number shall contain the information required by 33 CFR §174.19 as amended.. D. A vessel issued a Maryland certificate of number must be titled in Maryland..
08.04.03.06.htm 08.04.03.06. 06 Notification to Department.. A person whose name appears as the owner of a vessel on a certificate of number shall notify the issuing authority within 15 days of:A. Any address change;. B. The theft or recovery of the vessel;. C. The loss or destruction of a valid certificate of number;. D. The transfer of full or partial interest in the vessel; and. E. The destruction or abandonment of the vessel..
08.04.03.07.htm 08.04.03.07. 07 Removal of Number.. The person whose name appears on a certificate of number as the owner of a vessel shall remove the number and validation sticker from the vessel when:A. The vessel is documented by the Coast Guard;. B. Certificate of number is invalid under 33 CFR §173.77(c) as amended; or. C. Vessel is no longer principally used in the state where the certificate was issued..
08.04.03.08.htm 08.04.03.08. 08 Validity of Certificate of Number.. A. A certificate of number issued by the Department is invalid after the date when:. 1) Vessel is documented or required to be documented under 46 CFR §67 as amended; or. 2) The person whose name appears on the certificate of number as owner of the vessel, transfers all of his ownership of the vessel; or3) The vessel is destroyed or abandoned.. B. A certificate of number issued by the Department is invalid if:.
08.04.03.09.htm 08.04.03.09. 09 True Copies.. A. The Department may supply true copies of applications for Certificates of Title or Certificates of Number to a vessel owner or his agent upon written application accompanied by a $10 fee for each true copy.B. The Department may supply a statement of the history record on a boat to a vessel owner or his agent upon written application accompanied by a $5 fee.
08.04.03.10.htm 08.04.03.10. 10 Validation Stickers.. A. In order to use Maryland waters, a vessel numbered by the State must display validation stickers issued in accordance with the provisions of Natural Resources Article, §8-712, Annotated Code of Maryland.B. The validation stickers expire December 31 of the year following issuance.. C. The color of the validation sticker shall represent the year the validation stickers expire, with red for stickers that expire in 2012, followed by blue, international oran
08.04.03.11.htm 08.04.03.11. 11 Hull Identification Numbers.. A. The hull identification number is the permanent identification for any vessel titled under the provisions of Natural Resources Article, §8-715, Annotated Code of Maryland.B. The hull identification number shall be displayed on the vessel pursuant to 33 CFR §181.29 as amended.1) Carved, burned, stamped, embossed, molded, bonded, or otherwise permanently affixed so that alteration would be obvious;2) Primary hull identification number affixed to t
08.04.03.9999.htm 08.04.03.9999. Administrative History Effective date: August 10, 1974 (1:1 Md. R. 23). Regulations .02, .05C, D, .09A, .11 adopted effective June 25, 1975 (2:14 Md. R. 1015). Regulation .03 amended effective February 10, 1978. Regulation .06, .16, and .18 amended effective October 29, 1975 (2:24 Md. R. 1480). Chapter renumbered effective June 23, 1976 (3:13 Md. R. 721). Regulation .16 amended effective August 16, 1982 (9:16 Md. R. 1603) ―.
<< Back | Return to Main COMAR Search Page