Skip to Main Content
<< Back | Return to Main COMAR Search Page

11 records match your request.

FileAbstract
15.18.06.00.htm 15.18.06.00. Title 15 DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE Subtitle 18 STATE CHEMIST Chapter 06 Assessment on Commercial Equine Feed Authority: Agriculture Article, §6-107.2, Annotated Code of Maryland
15.18.06.01.htm 15.18.06.01. 01 Purpose.. The purpose of this chapter is to provide for the assessment on commercial equine feed and to describe the procedures for its collection and possible refund to a retail purchaser. This 5-year program is intended to benefit Maryland's equine industry.
15.18.06.02.htm 15.18.06.02. 02 Definitions.. A. In this chapter, the following terms have the meanings indicated.. B. Terms Defined.. 1) "Commercial equine feed" or "feed" means feed that is labeled or intended for an equine, but does not include unprocessed feed such as hay, oats, corn, or any feed that is exempt from the registration requirements of the Maryland Commercial Feed Law, Agriculture Article, §6-107, Annotated Code of Maryland.2) "Equine" means a horse, mule, donkey, or pony..
15.18.06.03.htm 15.18.06.03. 03 Assessment.. There is an assessment of $2 per ton on commercial equine feed sold in the State..
15.18.06.04.htm 15.18.06.04. 04 Liability for Payment.. A. Subject to the requirements of this chapter, a registrant shall pay the correct amount of the assessment to the Secretary.B. Quarterly Payment Requirements. A registrant shall pay the correct amount of the assessment for commercial equine feed sold in the State to the Secretary once each quarter as follows:1) For feed sold January 1 through March 31, the assessment shall be received by the Secretary by April 30;2) For feed sold April 1
15.18.06.05.htm 15.18.06.05. 05 Records.. A person who is subject to the requirements of this chapter shall keep for 4 years all records in connection with the sale of commercial equine feed in the State. The records shall be made available to the Secretary upon request.
15.18.06.06.htm 15.18.06.06. 06 Reimbursement.. A. Retail Purchaser. Subject to the requirements of this regulation, a person who purchases commercial equine feed at a retail location in this State may request reimbursement from the Secretary for the amount of any assessment paid on the feed.B. Reimbursement Form. A person who requests reimbursement shall provide the Secretary with an original sales receipt for the feed and a completed form adopted by the Secretary.C. Request Period. A pers
15.18.06.07.htm 15.18.06.07. 07 Retail Store Sign Requirement.. A. Posting at Point of Sale. A person who sells commercial equine feed at any retail location shall post in a noticeable place at the point of sale an appropriate sign, adopted by the Secretary, that informs the feed purchaser of the possibility of reimbursement.B. Sign Availability. Upon request, the Secretary shall provide a sign to any person who sells commercial equine feed.
15.18.06.08.htm 15.18.06.08. 08 Assessment Use.. Any assessment collected by the Secretary shall be paid into the Maryland Horse Industry Fund, as provided in Agriculture Article, §2-708.2, Annotated Code of Maryland, to be used only for education, research, and promotional materials and activities intended to benefit the Maryland equine industry.
15.18.06.09.htm 15.18.06.09. 09 Enforcement.. The Secretary may take appropriate action to enforce the requirements of this chapter, as provided in Agriculture Article, §2-104, Annotated Code of Maryland.
15.18.06.9999.htm 15.18.06.9999. Administrative History Effective date:. Regulations .01―09 adopted as an emergency provision effective October 28, 2002 (29:23 Md. R. 1808) adopted permanently effective February 17, 2003 (30:3 Md. R. 181)
<< Back | Return to Main COMAR Search Page